Scholarship fundraiser to honor Janet Hamburg

A scholarship fundraiser for the Department of Dance will be dedicated to Janet Hamburg, professor of dance and an internationally known movement analyst and lecturer who died Sept. 4.

Janet Hamburg

The “Mad for Dance” scholarship fundraiser takes place Sept. 23 at the Lawrence Arts Center.

The evening will feature dance and musical performances, including live jazz, singing and piano. Proceeds will support scholarships for students in the dance department.

Several KU faculty, students and alumni will be featured performers. The performers include Chuck Berg, professor of film and media studies and jazz saxophonist; dance faculty Muriel Cohan, Michelle Heffner Hayes, Jerel Hilding (in a duo with pianist Hurst Coffman) and Patrick Suzeau; Deanna Doyle, Kansas City ballet dancer and KU alumna; Leslie Bennett, assistant professor of theatre and vocalist; and Jordan Wright and Matt Rodriguez, both seniors at KU.

Hayley Mac, a rhythm tap dancer, will be a special guest. Mac has a long list of professional stage credits and has also been in several commercials, film productions and music videos.

“Janet touched the lives of so many at KU and in the community,” said Michelle Heffner Hayes, Dance Department chair. “Her dedication and passion for dance at KU transformed the department. This evening will be a celebration and continuation of her legacy.”

A cash bar and hors d’oeuvres at 6:30 p.m. will precede the performance at 7:30 p.m. Advance tickets are available for $20 at the Lawrence Arts Center, 940 New Hampshire St.; by phone, (785) 843-2787; or at Tickets will be $25 the day of the show. Seating is limited, so audience members are encouraged to buy their tickets in advance.

Dance faculty say a memorial celebration of Hamburg’s life is under way for later this semester. Memorial contributions may be made online to the Janet Hamburg Dance Scholarship in care of KU Endowment.

Campus closeup
Rafe Brown, herpetology, Natural History Museum curator
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).