KU people

Staples named Baur Professor in Sociology

Bill Staples

Bill Staples, professor and chair of sociology, has been awarded the 2010-11 E. Jackson Baur Professor in Sociology. He will hold the title for one year and will receive a one-course reduction in his teaching responsibilities and a $5,000 stipend to support his research.

Staples received his doctorate in sociology from the University of Southern California and has been a faculty member at KU since 1989.

He has served as the chair of the sociology department since 2000 and is currently co-editor of the Sociological Quarterly. Staples teaches classes and conducts research in the areas of social control, surveillance and historical sociology. His books include the “Encyclopedia of Privacy” and “Everyday Surveillance: “Vigilance and Visibility in Postmodern Life.”

As part of a faculty development initiative, the Baur Professorship of Sociology is awarded annually to a full professor in the Department of Sociology who has demonstrated a commitment to KU and to excellence in teaching and research. The award may be used for travel and other costs associated with the advancement of the recipient’s research.

Support for the professorship came from the estate of former KU sociology professor E. Jackson “Jack” Baur and his wife, Lillian Jacoby Baur. Jack Baur joined the faculty of KU in 1947, reaching the rank of full professor in 1959. He retired in 1987 and died in 2001, at the age of 87. His wife died in 1991. Baur’s estate plans to establish this professorship through KU Endowment took effect in 2007 after the death of his son, John C. Baur.

Employees honored by governor for longevity

Several KU faculty and staff members were honored in the annual ceremony for state employees who have up to 40 and 50 years of service. Recipients were invited to the Capitol to meet the governor and receive a pin.

Richard DeGeorge, philosophy, was honored for 50 years of service.

Those honored for 40 years were:

• G. Douglas Atkins, Deparmtent of English

• George Duerksen, School of Music

• Linda Faust, Department of Health, Sport and Exercise Science

• Douglas Glasnap, Center for Research on Learning

• Harold Godwin, School of Pharmacy

• Joanie Grosdidier, University Relations

• Peter Hierl, Department of Chemistry

• Michael Johnson, Department of English

• David Katzman, American Studies Program

• Gerald Lubensky, Department of Visual Art

• Keith Meyer, School of Law

• Janet Riley, budget

• Stanley Rolfe, Department of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering

• Orly Taylor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

• Francis Thomas, Department of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering

• G. Paul Willhite, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

Campus closeup
Rafe Brown, herpetology, Natural History Museum curator
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).