KU retirees to be honored at annual luncheon

KU will honor retiring faculty and unclassified staff members with a lunch at noon May 26 in the Kansas Union ballroom.

Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little and Vice Provost Mary Lee Hummert will recognize the employees during the lunch.

Retirees and one guest will be guests of the chancellor. Cost for additional guests is $20. For reservations, send a check payable to KU to Debra Bia, Chancellor’s Office, 230 Strong Hall. Reservation deadline is May 19.

Honored retirees, their department and years of service are listed below:

• Jane D. Asbury, visual art, 38

• Alva M. Beasley, Bureau of Child Research, 41

• John Brandau, KU Libraries, five

• William Brandenberger, Student Health Services, 24

• Dennis Budd, Information Technology, 28

• Diana Carlin, communication studies, 26

• Robert Collins, research and graduate studies, 16

• Warren Corman, university architect, 13

• George Crawford, curriculum and teaching, 39

• William J. Crowe, KU Libraries, 20

• Jeanne Lee Cunningham, Information Technology, 33

• Robert DeKosky, history, 34

• Carole Depew, research and graduate studies, 34

• Susan R. Elkins, Continuing Education, 34

• Ted Frederickson Jr., journalism, 31

• Richard Givens, chemistry, 43

• Jan Grady, Bureau of Child Research, 33

• William Harrison, Kansas Geological Survey, 14

• James Hartman, English, 41

• Linda Hope, theatre, 22

• Marguerite Hornback, Bureau of Child Research, 4

• Rachel Hunter, Kansas Public Radio, 27

• Michael L. Johnson, English, 41

• Debra Kramer, comptroller’s office, 30

• Claude Laird, Center for Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets, 18

• Melvin Landsberg, English, 49

• Carolyn Chinn Lewis, Spencer Museum of Art, 32

• Paul Lim, English, 38

• Donna Luckey, architecture, design and planning, 28

• Larry Magnuson, Kansas Geological Survey, 43

• Renate R. Mai-Dalton, business and Multicultural Scholars Program, 31

• Rose Marino, Office of the General Counsel, 29

• Lynn Marotz, applied behavioral science, 34

• Richard McNulty, geography, seven

• L. Keith Miller, applied behavioral science, 43

• Robert N. Minor, religious studies, 33

• Lester A. Mitscher, medicinal chemistry, 36

• George W. Moore, Edwards Campus, 22

• Kay Lynne Myers, Edwards Campus, social welfare, 16

• Stephen Parker, Slavic languages and literatures, 44

• Lewis Perkins, athletics, 7

• John S. Schott, Institutional Research and Planning, 37

• Carol Stewart, Bureau of Child Research, 25

• Marilyn B. Thompson, Bureau of Child Research, 21

• Beth Warner, KU Libraries, 11

• Robert Weaver, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, molecular biosciences, 40

• Jack B. Wright, theatre, 35

Campus closeup
Matthew Gillispie, clinical assistant professor in the Schiefelbusch Speech-Language-Hearing Clinic and the Department of Speech-Language-Hearing: Sciences and Disorders
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).