School of Medicine-Wichita announces faculty promotions

Fifteen faculty members at the School of Medicine-Wichita have been promoted, effective July 1. The faculty members and their departments are:

To clinical associate professor with tenure

Suzanne R. Hawley, preventive medicine and public health

Ruth E. Wetta-Hall, preventive medicine and public health

To associate professor

Mark E. Harrison, pediatrics

Brenda A. Issa, pediatrics

To research associate professor

Carolyn R. Ahlers- Schmidt, pediatrics

To clinical professor

James M. Haan, surgery

To clinical associate professor

Susan L. Carr, psychiatry and behavioral sciences

Maurice L. Duggins, family and community medicine

Therese E. Cusick, surgery

Donna F. Ewy, family and community medicine

Noel C. Sanchez, surgery

T. Lee Mills, family and community medicine

Kamran M. Ali, radiology

Scott L. Stringfield, family and community medicine

Mona B. Brake, internal medicine

Campus closeup
Malika Lyon, coordinator, International Visiting Scholars
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).