New class of senior administrative fellows named

Six faculty members have been named senior administrative fellows for 2011-12. The program allows select faculty members to learn more about senior administration, both at KU and across higher education, by meeting with senior administrators, visiting administrative units across campus and discussing national trends in academia.

The new class of fellows is:

∑ Christopher Anderson, associate professor and Harper Faculty Fellow, School of Business

∑ Barbara Barnett, associate dean and associate professor, William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications

∑ Stuart Day, associate professor and department chair, Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

∑ Jane Gibson, associate professor and acting chair, anthropology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

∑ Marc Greenberg, professor and department chair, Slavic languages and literatures, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

∑ Donald Haider-Markel, professor and department chair, political science, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

The program is now in its 19th year and is directed by Mary Lee Hummert, vice provost for faculty development.

The class is selected annually from nominations received from around campus. The fellows work together for about four hours per month. There is no stipend or release time offered or expectation of an administrative position at the conclusion of the year.

Campus closeup
Malika Lyon, coordinator, International Visiting Scholars
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).