Wheat State Whirlwind Tour participants selected

Faculty, staff to make 13th trip throughout Kansas

Participants have been selected for the 2011 Wheat State Whirlwind Tour. The tour, now in its 13th year, takes faculty and staff, many new to Kansas, on a five day trip through the state, introducing them to sites they might not otherwise see, while giving them a better idea of the history, geography, economy and culture of Kansas. This year’s tour will be on the road from May 23 to 27.

The participants are listed below with their department.

• Shrikant Anant, KU Medical Center

• Abigail Arthur, School of Medicine-Wichita

• Cori Ast, KU Medical Center

• Fonda Briles, KU Medical Center

• Robert Carroll, Student Success

• Andrew Chen, Accounting and Information Systems

• Heather Clay, School of Medicine-Wichita

• Peggy Czaplewski, KU Medical Center

• Michelle De Souza, KU Medical Center

• John Derby, Visual Art

• Amy Devitt, English

• Kevin Dobbs, Kansas Biological Survey

• Lauren Erickson, Office of Admissions

• Clinton Everhart, Office of Admissions

• Maria Pontes Ferreirra, Kansas Biological Survey

• Tom Field, KU Medical Center

• Pam Fine, Journalism

• Jane Gibson, Anthropology

• Ryan Gove, KU Medical Center

• James Hartman, English

• LeaMarie Herron, Center for Global and International Studies

• Donald Holland, Internal Audit

• Tanya Honderick, KU Medical Center

• Adam Keener, School of Nursing

• Sarah Kieweg, Mechanical Engineering

• Mary Michele Mariscalco, School of Medicine-Wichita

• Susan Mercer, Institute for Policy and Social Research

• Renee Mijal, KU Medical Center

• Jacquelyn Pedigo, Engineering

• Rosetta Robins, KU Medical Center

• Scott McBride Smith, School of Music

• Celka Straughn, Spencer Museum of Art

• Karen Tarnow, School of Medicine

• David Tell, Communication Studies

• Kristin Trendel, New Student Orientation

• Philip Twumasi-Ankrah, School of Medicine-Wichita

• Lisa VanHoose, KU Medical Center

• Tamela Walz, KU Medical Center

• Robert Walzel, School of Music

• Steffani Webb, KU Medical Center

• Modupe Wintoki, Business

• Liang Xu, Molecular Biosciences

• Rosalee Zackula, School of Medicine-Wichita

Campus closeup
Carey Novak, director of business relations and development, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).