Submitted/Ad Astra Initiative

A collection of trading cards honoring influential Kansas Scientists by the Ad Astra Initiative shows KU faculty members Steve Hawley, professor of physics and astronomy, upper right; and the late Takeru Higuchi, lower left.

New crop of KU scientists featured in online trading cards

Recognition part of state's 150th anniversary celebration

The Ad Astra Initiative, based in Hutchinson, is celebrating the 150th anniversary of Kansas statehood with a yearlong recognition of 150 Kansas scientists. Trading cards about each scientist are posted online each month, to be used to help teach K-12 students about the importance of science and innovation and the role they play in the history and future of the state.

The first release of cards in January featured four KU faculty members and alumni. During February, March and April, additional KU-related honorees are:

• Kristin Bowman-James, University Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and director of Kansas NSF EPSCoR

• Prasad Gogineni, Deane E. Ackers Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and director of the Center for Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets

• Steve Hawley, retired NASA astronaut and physics and astronomy faculty member

• Don Steeples, Dean A. McGee Distinguished Professor of Geology

• Richard K. Moore, emeritus professor of electrical engineering and computer science and inventor

• Takeru Higuchi, KU pharmaceutical chemistry faculty member and inventor (1967-87)

• Cora Downs, alumnus and KU microbiology faculty member for 46 years

• Creighton Hardin, KU medical school faculty member (1952-88) and surgeon

• Clyde Tombaugh, alumnus, astronomer and discoverer of Pluto in 1930

• Joseph W. Kennedy, alumnus and co-discoverer of the element plutonium

• Otis Ray McIntire, alumnus and inventor of Styrofoam insulation

• Elmer McCollum, alumnus and discoverer of Vitamins A and B

• Donna Johnson, CEO of Pinnacle Technology in Lawrence and a member of the KU Center for Research Board of Trustees

Campus closeup
Mulu Negash, academic adviser, McNair Scholars Program
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).