Open Access Advisory Board formed to guide freely available scholarship efforts

Lorraine Haricombe, dean of libraries and the provost’s designate on implementing and supporting the KU faculty open access policy, has created an Open Access Advisory Board to help guide those efforts.

In 2010, faculty elected to make KU the first public university in the United States to adopt an open access policy regarding faculty research published in peer-review journals.

The board, which met for the first time in February, will work with Haricombe to enhance support for and understanding of issues related to open access and other initiatives that extend the reach and access to the scholarship created at KU. The overarching goal of the board is to shape open access policy and practice at KU to promote the dissemination of KU faculty research so that it reaches the greatest number of people who might discover and benefit from it.

“KU is on the leading edge of the open access movement and universities in the U.S. and abroad have been looking to us for best practices,” said Marc L. Greenberg, professor and chair of the Slavic languages and literatures department and member of the new board. “The advisory board will not only help establish those practices for KU faculty, but, by extension, for the scholarly enterprise in general.”

Haricombe said of the board, “They will serve as a valuable source of advice and counsel for us, helping the libraries develop strategies for connecting the KU faculty open access policy with professional guidance, supportive resources, integrated technology planning and internal and external communications, all designed to highlight the value of and access to KU research.”

Ada Emmett, associate librarian for scholarly communications and chair of the committee, said two working groups have been formed, one dealing with institutional repository development and integration, the other with ongoing open access policy issues and open access expansion.

Board members include:


Danny Anderson, dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Rick Ginsberg, dean, School of Education

Lorraine Haricombe, dean, KU Libraries

Mary Ellen Kondrat, dean, School of Social Welfare

Steve Warren, vice chancellor for research and graduate studies

Advisory board

Kyle Camarda, School of Engineering

Ada Emmett, KU Libraries

Marc L. Greenberg, Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures

Scott Hanrath, KU Libraries

Beth Innocenti, Department of Communication Studies

Michele Lubbers, KU Libraries

Deb Ludwig, KU Libraries

Charles Marsh, William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Rick McMullen, Office of Research and Graduate Studies

Town Peterson, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Julie Petr, KU Libraries

Marianne Reed, KU Libraries

Isidro Rivera, Department of Spanish and Portuguese

Josh Rosenbloom, Department of Economics

Robert Ward, Department of Molecular Biosciences

Andrew Torrance, School of Law

Campus closeup
Mulu Negash, academic adviser, McNair Scholars Program
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).