Information Services merge to end; Libraries, Information Technology to continue separately

Information Technology and KU Libraries will be separate units and no longer under the Information Services structure, effective June 30.

Interim Provost Danny Anderson and Vice Provost Denise Stephens announced the move to IS staff and the general campus March 15. Anderson said the move had been recommended by Stephens and approved by him.

“In recent years, KU has stood almost alone among major research universities with our merged Information Services model – an organizational decision made 14 years ago,” Anderson said. “Much was gained by this decision 14 years ago; however, there are new gains to be realized with independent organizations designed for the 21st century mission of an international research university.”

Stephens emphasized that the move is not a cost-cutting measure, and that no staff reductions are expected as a result. By allowing both units to operate independently, each will be able to focus on unique and evolving user expectations and requirements.

KU Libraries has 167 full-time employees while Information Technology has 164.

Stephens will lead the decoupling of Information Services until June 30, when the position of vice provost for information services will be eliminated. Diane Goddard, vice provost for finance, will be interim chief information officer for Information Technology. Lorraine Haricombe, dean of libraries, will continue her leadership position. Each unit will report directly to the Provost’s Office.

Information Services staff meetings will be held soon to discuss the process with employees. Anderson will be present at both meetings to help answer questions.

Anderson praised Stephens and the IS staff for accomplishing much with minimal resources.

“Information Services has overseen many innovations during its 14 years: ScholarWorks, Initiative One, Instructional Services programs, the work of the Information Management Policy Group, the expansion of our wireless access, our wireless zones, the Open Access initiative, the creation of Hawk Drive, the Digital Humanities initiative, to name a few,” Anderson said.

Campus closeup
Amanda Schwegler, assistant director, Center for Service Learning
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).