Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation funds several new KU research projects

KU’s Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation, a program funded by the Kauffman Foundation and KU Endowment, announced proof-of-concept funding in February for 11 new projects. The goal is to generate new and innovative drugs, medical devices and drug device combinations. These projects will take advantage of KU’s research and development expertise in pharmacy, bioengineering, and medicine. More information is online The new recipients and their projects are:

• Mark Cohen, vice chair for research, Department of Surgery, and assistant professor of pharmacology, toxicology and therapeutics, “Withaferin A: A Novel Treatment for Metastatic Melanoma”

• Heather Desaire, associate professor of chemistry, “A Novel Platform for Producing Proteins”

• Mark Fisher, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, “Lead Compound Identification of Direct Chemical Correctors of the Misfolding of Cystic Fibrosis Transmembrane Regulator using a Novel Chaperonin Screening System”

• Lisa Harlan-Williams, research assistant professor of anatomy and cell biology, KU Cancer Center, “Small Molecule Activators of BRCA1 Expression”

• Pedro Morales, senior scientist, KU Cancer Center, “Development of MicroRNAs (miRNA) Gene Reporter Biosensors as a Model for Gene Silencing Based Drugs Study Programs”

• Kristi Neufeld, assistant professor of molecular biosciences, “Prevention of APC-Dependent Intestinal Neoplasia by Novel Activators of Heat Shock Response”

• Emily Scott, associate professor of medicinal chemistry, “Advancement of Compounds Targeting Human Lung Cytochrome P450 2A13 for the Prevention of Nicotine-Associated Lung Cancer”

• Teruna Siahaan, professor and associate chair of pharmaceutical chemistry, “Developing Bifunctional Peptide Inhibitors (BPI) for Treatment of Multiple Sclerosis”

• Ossama Tawfik, professor and vice chair of pathology and laboratory medicine, and director, anatomic and surgical pathology, “Evaluation of the Potential Impact of Telecytology [Tele”PAP”ologyTM] of Cell Block Preparations from Pap Smears”

• George Vielhauer, research assistant professor of urology, KU Cancer Center, “Development of C-terminal HSP90 Inhibitors for the Treatment of Prostate Cancer”

• Judy Wu, University Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy, “Development of Multi-Functional and Miniaturized in vivo Biosensors”

Campus closeup
Amanda Schwegler, assistant director, Center for Service Learning
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).