Service to be focal point of chancellor's inauguration

Gray-Little's ceremony set for April 11

In honor of the inauguration of Bernadette Gray-Little as KU’s 17th chancellor, faculty, staff, students, alumni, friends and community partners have joined forces to highlight the university’s commitment to serving others by declaring a “Semester of Service.”

All members of the university community are invited to join by volunteering time and dedicating hours of service to the effort. Individuals and/or groups are invited to log volunteer hours on the inauguration Web site,

Gray-Little’s inauguration will be April 11.

A running tally will be kept at the site showing the service projects taking place and to encourage the university community to reach a goal of 100,000 hours.

The sub-committee working on the effort is co-chaired by Erika Dvorske, president and CEO of United Way of Douglas County and Linda Luckey, assistant to the provost. Joining them are representatives from the Center for Community Outreach, Roger Hill Volunteer Center, the KU Medical Center and Edwards Campus, Kansas Public Radio/Audio-Reader, Douglas County Bank, Big Brothers/Big Sisters, the KU Center for Service Learning, KU Alumni Association, the Clinton Foundation and students, faculty and staff from across all of the KU campuses.

Special days of service during the inauguration weekend will be offered as well as many other opportunities to volunteer throughout the semester.

More information will be posted on the Web site as the semester progresses.

Campus closeup
Peggy Sampson, outreach coordinator, listener liaison, Audio-Reader Network
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).