Hayes, Mihesuah, Rosenblum named Keeler Intra-University Professors

Faculty members will under take collaborative projects in 2010-11

Three faculty members have been named Keeler Family Intra-University Professors for the 2010-11 academic year.

E. Bruce Hayes, associate professor of French and Italian

E. Bruce Hayes

Devon A. Mihesuah

Brian Rosenblum

Devon A. Mihesuah, the Cora Lee Beers Price Teaching Professor in International Cultural Understanding

Brian Rosenblum, associate librarian

The professorships give faculty members an opportunity to enhance their knowledge of an academic specialty, broaden the depth of a defined field of study or start a new academic endeavor and promote collaboration across disciplines. Keeler professors are granted one semester free of departmental responsibilities to engage in exchange with faculty from other disciplines, take courses, develop cross-disciplinary projects and/or team-teach in one or two courses in another department or school at KU.

Hayes will work with the Department of Classics. His research project centers on Roman satirical works as a crucial subtext for late 16th century French satire.

Mihesuah will partner with the Environmental Studies Program and the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. Her research areas include American Indian history, Choctaw history and culture, traditional Indigenous foodways and environments, Indigenous women, activism, repatriation and stereotyping. She also is a novelist.

Rosenblum will work with faculty and staff at the Spencer Museum of Art to look at the evolving roles of museums and libraries in supporting teaching, learning and research in the digital age. His work at KU Libraries focuses on scholarly communication and digital publishing.

Campus closeup
Paul Tucker, director of choral activities, School of Music
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).