Teaching Dollars & Sense

William E. Lewis, distinguished lecturer in finance at KU, teaches a personal finance course that addresses fiscal topics traditionally tied to college life budgeting, paying bills, renting an apartment but also helps students prepare for tasks that lie ahead saving for retirement, investing, buying a home. Watch video »

Unclassified Senate elects new officers, senators to represent staff

Unclassified staff have elected a new slate of officers to represent them in the Unclassified Senate.

In voting completed April 3, staff chose Phil Wilke, media manager at Kansas Public Radio, as president-elect. He will succeed Jeannette Johnson, assistant to the provost.

In the academic representation category, Allyson Flaster, academic adviser, McNair Scholars Program; Ed Foley, director of recruitment, Edwards Campus; Justine Hamilton,program coordinator, Office of Study Abroad; and Alexis McKinley Jones, director of recruitment, School of Engineering, were elected senators.

Danny Kaiser, assistant director, Parking and Transit, was elected in the administrative category.

The Information Services senate seat was won by Julie Fugett, information security analyst, IT Security Office.

Research seats went to Jennifer Delisle, research assistant, Kansas Biological Survey; Megan Gannon, coordinator, Office of Research and Graduate Studies; Susan MacNally, compliance officer, Office of Research and Graduate Studies; and Val Renault, project coordinator, Research and Training Center on Independent Living.

In the student success division, Mary Ann Rasnak, director, Academic Achievement and Access Center; and Heidi Simon, associate director, Office of Admissions and Scholarships, were elected.

The senators, both newly and re-elected will begin their terms in May. For a full listing of Unclassified Senate members, visit the senate's Web site.

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, retaliation, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies and is the University’s Title IX Coordinator: the Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.