Teaching Dollars & Sense

William E. Lewis, distinguished lecturer in finance at KU, teaches a personal finance course that addresses fiscal topics traditionally tied to college life — budgeting, paying bills, renting an apartment — but also helps students prepare for tasks that lie ahead — saving for retirement, investing, buying a home. Watch video »

KU people

Dobson receives geography career achievement award

Jerome Dobson, professor of geography and president of the American Geographical Society, is the 2009 recipient of the Robert T. Aangeenbrug Distinguished Career Award, presented by the Geographic Information Science and Systems Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers.

Aangeenbrug taught at KU from 1965 to 1985, when he left to become executive director of the AAG.

Dobson was recognized March 26 at the AAG’s annual meeting in Las Vegas. The award was established in 2005 “to honor a senior scholar for sustained and effective research contributions in geographic information systems and science.”

Dobson is regarded as a pioneer in the field of geographic information science, which combines computer mapping, satellite remote sensing and the Global Positioning System. He helped found the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science — an alliance of more than 60 universities, research institutions and associations — and is a past president. He was also instrumental in originating the National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis, and worked closely with Aangeenbrug in that role.

Dobson came to KU in 2001, originally serving at the Kansas Biological Survey as a research professor with the Kansas Applied Remote Sensing Program. This followed a distinguished 25-year career in research and development at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. While at Oak Ridge, he led the team that created the LandScan Global Population Database, now the world standard for estimating populations at risk during natural disasters, wars and terrorist threats.

Dobson was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2008 and received the inaugural Distinguished Career Award of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society.

Rodriguez named interim associate vice provost for diversity, equity

Veteran educator Fred Rodriguez has been named interim associate vice provost for diversity and equity.

Fred Rodriguez

Rodriguez succeeds Maurice Bryan, who on July 1 will become director of employment practices at California State University-Chico.

As interim vice provost for diversity and equity, Rodriguez will advise the chancellor, provost and other top administrators on diversity issues and focus on the recruitment, retention and development of underrepresented faculty and staff.

An associate professor in the School of Education’s Department of Curriculum and Teaching, Rodriguez also serves as director of both the Multicultural Scholars Program and the Professional Development Schools Alliance.

Rodriguez has held a number of administrative positions in the School of Education, including interim dean from 2004 to 2005. He was director of the Center for Teaching Excellence from 1997 to 2001.

Klaassen, Wan honored by toxicology society

Members of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology received three major awards at the Annual Society of Toxicology meeting. Curtis Klaassen, University Distinguished Professor and chair of the department, received the Career Achievement Award by the Metals Specialty Section of the Society of Toxicology. Yvonne Wan, professor, received the 2009 Elsevier Award from the Women in Toxicology Division of the Society of Toxicology. Yue Julia Cui was the only graduate student to receive a one-year fellowship given by the Society of Toxicology, supported by Novartis.

Faculty represent intern program in Washington, D.C.

To celebrate its 25th anniversary, KU’s Washington Intern Program held a reception April 8 in Washington, D.C.

Joseph Steinmetz, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, spoke at the gathering that brought together members of the Capitol Hill community, alumni of the program, KU students, faculty and staff and invited guests.

During the reception, Burdett Loomis, professor of political science and director of the Washington Intern Program, announced the formation of a new Washington Semester Advisory Committee. The group held its first meeting April 9.

For a full list of program board members, click here

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).