September 3, 1999

Patrol surprises 20 profs

Chancellor hands out $5K Kemper awards for teaching excellence

Twenty KU faculty received surprise classroom visits in the semester's opening days from KU and Commerce Bank officials as part of the William T. Kemper Teaching Excellence Awards.

Chancellor Robert Hemenway and Provost David E. Shulenburger, along with Jim Martin, president of the KU Endowment Association, and Mark Gonzales, community president of Commerce Bank, Lawrence, presented the first awards on the first day of classes.

The honored professors receive $5,000 each. In all, $100,000 will be distributed.

This year's recipients will be honored at a program at 4 p.m., Oct. 4, in 130 Budig Hall. A buffet reception will follow at the Adams Alumni Center.

This year's 16 Lawrence campus winners are:

Ron Francisco, professor of political science and Russian and East European Studies. Francisco's recent array of courses taught includes surveys in comparative politics, research methods, political revolutions, and politics of Western Europe.

Allen Ford, professor of business. He came to KU in 1979, and since that time has won nearly every school, university and professional teaching award extant. In 1996, he received the Ray M. Sommerfeld Outstanding Tax Educator Award, a national honor given to only five individuals since its inception.

James R. "Pete" Shortridge, professor of geography. He is acknowledged as one of the top academics in the broad field of American cultural and historical geography.

Sandra L. Albrecht, associate professor of sociology. Albrecht had a leadership role in the Women's Studies Program for several years. She is the recipient of several teaching awards.

Ann Schofield, professor of American studies and women's studies. She has a national reputation for her work on women's and labor history, especially her research addressing the intersection of gender and work.

Renate R. Mai-Dalton, associate professor of business. Mai-Dalton founded the Multicultural Business Scholar Program in 1992 to improve retention and graduation rates of pre-business and business students.

Brenda K. Myles, associate professor of special education. She is recognized internationally for her work in the area of autism spectrum disorders and established the Autism/Asperger Syndrome Resource Center at KUMC.

Thomas J. Lewin, associate professor of history. As KU's only specialist in oral history, Lewin is frequently sought out as an adviser on special projects, both on campus and throughout the state.

Arlene L. Barry, associate professor of teaching and leadership. Barry has attained a national reputation for her work in the history of literacy and is looked to by other scholars in this field for her intellectual contributions.

Diana B. Carlin, professor of communication studies. She is an acknowledged authority in the field of political debates, has has chaired the board of directors of the Kids Voting project in Kansas.

Stephen R. McAllister, associate professor of law. Formerly a clerk for a chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals and two Supreme Court justices in Washington, D.C., McAllister regularly offers a freshman honors tutorial on the Supreme Court and is a faculty adviser to the prestigious University Scholars Program.

Victor Bailey, professor of history. Before coming to KU in 1988, Bailey held academic posts at Oxford and Hull Universities in Britain and the University of Rochester, N.Y. His expertise in the field of socio-legal history of Britain in the 19th and 20th centuries was further demonstrated recently by the publication of his latest book, " `This Rash Act': Suicide Across the Life-Cycle in the Victorian City."

David S. Holmes, professor of psychology. Within the psychology department, Holmes' heavy teaching load accounts for almost 25 percent of the undergraduate credit hours.

Jan Kozma, professor of Italian. She devised the Summer Language Institute in Florence, Italy, an intensive language experience intended to help students achieve the fluency needed to study Italian literature as a major.

Philip A. Schrodt, professor of political science. He specializes in teaching foreign policy decision-making, international conflict and crisis forecasting, and quantitative international relations.

Norman A. Slade, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology and curator of mammals at the Natural History Museum. A world-class ecologist, Slade often takes students to field sites so they can observe firsthand the ecological principles presented in his courses.

Four other KU faculty members at the KU Medical Center in Kansas City, Kan., and KU School of Medicine-Wichita received Kemper Awards. They are William H. Peery, associate professor of internal medicince at the KU School of Medicine-Wichita; Vincent H. Gattone II, professor of anatomy and cell biology; Anita L. Wingate, associate professor of nursing; and James L. Fishback, associate professor of pathology and laboratory medicine.

Back to KU University Relations' Home Page | KU News | September 3 Oread
This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Copyright 1999, the University of Kansas Office of University Relations, Lawrence, KS, U.S.A. Images may be reused with notice of copyright, but not altered. KU news releases may be reprinted without permission.
Contact Oread editor Bunny Smith at (785) 864-8860, fax 864-3339, or