Feb. 7, 1997

Library employees honored at ceremony

Provost David E. Shulenburger congratulates Sarah King Couch, library assistant III, as she receives the 1996 Library Classified Employee of the Year award.

At the annual KU libraries recognition reception, held Oct. 29, Sarah King Couch, head of Watson Library's periodicals and microforms unit, was honored as the 1996 Library Classified Employee of the Year.

Couch, library assistant III, has been with the KU libraries since 1970. She was cited for providing library users with excellent service, for her skills in staff training, and for her ability to adapt to a recent series of significant restructuring in her department. The award carries an honorarium of $250.

Five library staff members received certificates of achievement in the State Library of Kansas Library Employee Education Program: Bayliss C. Harsh, library assistant II; Susan D. Hewitt, library assistant III; Johnnieque B. Love, librarian I; James A. Smith, library assistant II; and Geraldine G. Slater, library assistant II.

Recognized for recent promotions were John C. Richardson to Librarian II; and Marianne Alethe Reed to systems specialist. Richardson also received tenure in the library faculty.

Lars E. Leon, library assistant II in Retrieval Services, was recognized for his recent award of the Tom C. Drewes Scholarship, given annually by the American Library Association. Leon is enrolled in the master's of library and information science degree program at Emporia State University.

Back to KU University Relations' Home Page | KU News | Feb. 7 Oread
This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Copyright 1996, the University of Kansas Office of University Relations. Images and information may be reused with notice of copyright, but not altered.
albright@kuhub.cc.ukans.edu, (785) 864-8858.