The University of Kansas An Official Employee Publication From the Office of University Relations



Sept. 12, 2005
Vol. 30, No. 2

KU, staff to assist Katrina recovery
Highly ranked among new faculty
Meet KU's new faculty members
ROTC supply tech on top of the world
KU joins digital dissertation age
In elite company: Book cites KU
Walesa leads list of notable visitors
Education center nets $9.3M grant

20 win Kemper honors
'46 Hawk finally gets its letters
Preamble reading, events fete Constitution Day
July employee honors given



Current jobs




Contact Us

KU Faculty & Staff


Univ Relations

KU homepage

Oread Deadline Schedule




Nancy Baym, associate professor of communication studies, gives her students the thumbs-up after Chancellor Robert Hemenway presented her with a 2005 Kemper Award worth $5,000. (Photo by Doug Koch)

20 earn Kemper Awards for excellence in teaching

The presentations of the 2005 Kemper Awards have concluded, honoring 20 professors for excellence in teaching and advising with a gift of $5,000 each.

Now in the 10th year, the awards were established by a $500,000 fund from the William T. Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank, Trustee, and $500,000 in matching funds from the KU Endowment Association.

This year’s winners are:
Nancy Baym, associate professor of communication studies
David Besson, professor of physics and astronomy
Stephen Egbert, associate professor of geography
Don Haider-Markel, associate professor of political science
Janet Hamburg, professor of music and dance
James Hartman, professor of English
Ted Juhl, assistant professor of economics
David Katzman, professor and director of American studies
Robert H. Lee, associate professor of health policy and management
Lorin Maletsky, assistant professor of mechanical engineering
Chuck Marsh, associate professor of journalism
Amy McNair, associate professor of art history
Scott Moser, associate professor of family and community medicine
Jim Orr, professor and chairman of the division of biological sciences
David Petr, professor of electrical engineering
Bangere Purnaprajna, associate professor of mathematics
Edward Scanlon, associate professor of social work
James Sherman, professor of applied behavioral science
Greg Simpson, professor of psychology and acting associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Cynthia S. Teel, associate professor of nursing.

For photos of each classroom presentation and biographies of the winners, view


Back to topHome   Copyright 2005, the University of Kansas Office of University Relations.
CONTACT US: or (785) 864-3256.