Skip Redundent Navigation
The University of Kansas Campus Tour: Spooner
HallCampus Tour: Marvin
HallCampus Tour: Fraser
Hall June 22, 2018   
toggle navigation  


Employee Newsletter November 21, 2005 : Vol. 30, No. 7

Committee formed to find new dean of libraries

Group will begin search in late November to replace departing Stella Bentley

Steve Hedden, dean of the School of Fine Arts at KU, will lead a national search to identify the next dean of libraries, Denise Stephens, vice provost for information services, announced.

The search committee will meet later this month to begin its work. KU hopes the next dean will begin work by August 2006. Stella Bentley, dean of libraries since 2001, announced last month her plans to retire next year.

The KU Libraries has a $15 million annual budget, 180 staff members and employs 250 students annually. The system contains more than 4 million printed volumes and more than 100 searchable electronic databases. KU Libraries catalogs 33,000 serials annually and houses more than 500,000 maps and 1 million photographic images. A $5.8 million library annex is under construction on KU's west campus.

In addition to Hedden, the search committee members are: Victor Bailey, director, Hall Center for the Humanities and professor of history; Joseph Custer, associate director, Wheat Law Library; Saeed Farokhi, associate dean of the Graduate School and professor of aerospace engineering; Erik Floor, associate professor of molecular biosciences; Robert Hanzlik, professor of medicinal chemistry; Joe Harrington, associate professor of English; Chuck Marsh, associate professor of journalism; Barry Newton, professor of architecture and libraries chair for the University Council; Susanne Clement, head, collections development and librarian; Richard Fyffe, assistant dean of libraries and librarian; John Stratton, coordinator, libraries' outreach services and librarian; Jerree Catlin, associate director, information technology; Marianne Reed, senior systems specialist, information technology; Nancy Hawkins, media and reserve supervisor, Gorton Library; Robert Szabo, operations coordinator, Anschutz Library; and Rachel Barnes, a student senator and sophomore from Hutchinson.

Kari Balthazor, Office of the Vice Provost for Information Services, and Barbara Gorman, Office of the Dean of Libraries, will provide staff support for the search.

Copyright 2005, an official employee publication from the Office of University Relations.


Email this page Email this page
Printable format Print this page


p: (785) 864-8860
f: (785) 864-3339


Events Calendar

Current Jobs

KU News

University Relations