The University of Kansas An Official Employee Publication From the Office of University Relations


Cover story    

Sept. 3, 2004
Vol. 29, No. 2

Political adviser to lead Dole Institute
• Dole crosses party lines to award Leadership Prize
KU lectures mark sesquicentennial
Surprise Patrol delivers 18 Kemper Awards, 2 remain
Hart to host presidential debate watch, discussion
KU offers new distance ed history courses
Volunteer credits KU service for speech recovery after stroke
Simons family establishes new Hall fellowship
Engineering, business in U.S. News top 50
Band aid
Edwards Campus program provides pathway to success
Professor of the Year to visit KU
Program’s actions louder than words
186 receive Coca-Cola Merit Scholarships
Employees of the month honored

United Way 2004: ‘Your Gift Matters’
Grad student greeting
KPR sets new Sunday schedule
Meeting of merit

Book shelf
In the news
Tech tips



Current jobs

In memory

KU people

News in brief

Web works


Contact Us

KU Faculty & Staff


UR homepage

KU homepage

Oread Deadline Schedule





Surprise Patrol delivers 18 Kemper Awards, 2 remain

Yolanda Jackson, associate professor of applied behavioral science, admires the Kemper Award
presented to her by Dale Seuferling, president of the KU Endowment Association. Eighteen faculty members have received awards so far this year. Doug Koch/University Relations

Professors receive $5,000, plaque for excellence in teaching and advising

Eighteen KU professors have received $5,000 Kemper Awards from a “Surprise Patrol” lead by Chancellor Robert Hemenway and Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor David E. Shulenburger. The awards recognize excellence in teaching and advising.

The patrol also has included Mark Heider, Commerce Bank president for Lawrence, and representatives of the KU Endowment Association.

In all, 20 professors will be honored and $100,000 distributed by the Kemper Award patrol this year.

The W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence recognize outstanding teachers and advisers at KU as determined by a seven-member selection committee. Now in the ninth year of a 10-year program, the awards were established by a $500,000 fund from the William T. Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank, Trustee, and $500,000 in matching funds from the KU Endowment Association.

The Kemper Foundation was established in 1989 after Kemper’s death. It supports Midwest communities and concentrates on initiatives in education, health and human services, civic improvements and the arts.

2004 Kempers awarded through Sept. 3
• Anthony Corbeill, professor of classics
• G. Douglas Atkins, professor of English
• Paul Atchley, associate professor of psychology
• John Peck, professor of law
• Jerzy Grzymala-Busse, professor of electrical engineering and computer science
• Peter Herlihy, associate professor of geography
• Susan Gauch, professor of electrical engineering and computer science
• Tanya Hartman, associate professor of fine arts
• Danny Anderson, professor and chair of Spanish and Portuguese
• Monica Biernat, professor of psychology
• David Cateforis, associate professor of art history
• Yolanda Jackson, associate professor of applied behavioral science
• Stephen D. Smith, professor of pediatrics
• Barbara Anthony-Twarog, professor of physics and astronomy
• Matthew Jacobson, assistant professor of theatre and film
• Rita Napier, associate professor of history
• Debora M. Ortega, associate professor of social welfare
• Winifred Dunn, professor and chairwoman of occupational therapy education

Back to topHome   This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Copyright 2001, the University of Kansas Office of University Relations. Images and information may be reused with notice of copyright, but not altered., (785) 864-3256.