Nov. 5, 2004
Vol. 29, No. 6

Ceremony to honor veterans
• Librarian to return as vice provost
H.O.P.E. award finalists selected
Monster on Mass
Capitol Steps to headline Dole political humor series
Student center renamed AAAC
Judicial review
Student housing proposes 2005-06 rate increases
Discount offered on women’s basketball tickets
Medical center names new leadership team
Retirement is end of era at KU
Retiree reception
Faculty members plan sabbaticals

‘Tunnel of Oppression’ to return

KU campaign nearing goal

KU employees of the month recognized
Liberal library
Family gives KU $4M

Showcase features device created at KU
School of Education receives gift

Book shelf
In the news
Tech tips

KU First



Current jobs

In memory

KU people

News in brief

Web works


Contact Us

KU Faculty & Staff


UR homepage

KU homepage

Oread Deadline Schedule




Medical center names new leadership team

KU Medical Center has announced a new leadership team that will take over upon the retirement of Donald Hagen Dec. 31.

Barbara Atkinson, dean of the School of Medicine and executive vice chancellor-designate of the KU Medical Center, said major changes will include the promotion of Karen Miller, who will add senior vice chancellor of academic and student affairs to her current title of dean of the schools of nursing and allied health.

Reporting to Miller will be Allen Rawitch, vice chancellor of academic affairs and dean of graduate studies, and Dorothy Knoll, dean of student services.

Joan Hunt, who is currently senior associate dean of research and graduate education for the School of Medicine, will now also be vice chancellor for research and president of KU Medical Center’s Research Institute. Thomas Noffsinger, who will retire June 30, will continue to hold the title of vice chancellor for research administration until that date.

Shelley Gebar will assume the title of chief of staff and will continue to serve as senior associate dean of operations and administration for the School of Medicine and chief operating officer of Kansas University Physicians, Inc.

Ed Phillips, will continue as vice chancellor for administration, and David Adkins will continue as vice chancellor of external affairs. All five positions will report to Atkinson.

The organizational structures within the campus’s four schools, allied health, medicine, nursing and graduate studies, will remain the same.

The position of executive vice chancellor of the KU Medical Center reports directly to Chancellor Robert Hemenway.



    This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Copyright 2003, the University of Kansas Office of University Relations. Information may be reused without notice; Images may be reused with notice of copyright, but not altered., (785) 864-3256