The University of Kansas An Official Employee Publication From the Office of University Relations


Commencement 2004    

May 14, 2004
Vol. 28, No. 16

KU remembers Emily Taylor
Roberts named vice provost for research
Derritt chosen as university registrar
History, economics to be focus of faculty bus tour
Forum honors KU debate, features former winners
Chancellor chat
High-tech history
Clinton to give 1st Dole Lecture
Bush meets with education professor to discuss literacy

2004 employees of the year honored
KU, higher education see positive results from Legislature
Segregation scene
Book shelf
KU First


Alumni earn KU’s highest honor
Professors to receive teaching awards

Outstanding students to carry banners
Grad school ceremony fetes students, faculty
9 graduating seniors win chancellor’s awards
Commencement events
Dinner to thank retiring employees
Graduation glee
Grad students give awards to mentors
Mother, daughter make graduation family affair



Current jobs

In memory

KU people

News in brief

Web works


Contact Us

KU Faculty & Staff


UR homepage

KU homepage

Oread Deadline Schedule





Dinner to thank retiring employees

KU will honor retiring faculty and unclassified staff members with a dinner at 6:30 p.m. May 27 in the Kansas Union ballroom.

Chancellor Robert Hemenway and Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor David Shulenburger will recognize the employees during the annual dinner.

Retirees and one guest will be guests of the chancellor. Tickets for additional guests are $15. For reservations, send a check payable to KU to Bev Mater, Chancellor’s Office, 230 Strong Hall. Reservation deadline is May 20.

Honorees, their departments and years of service are:

Carol E. Anderson, business, 18; Dorothea M. Anderson, University Press, 16; Margaret J. Arnold, English, 36; William R. Arnold, sociology, 36; Barbara E. Bangert, special education, 11; Kenneth A. Bishop, chemical and petroleum engineering, 39; David Born, human development and family life, 29; S. Daniel Breslauer, religious studies, 26; Russell S. Buchholz, facilities operations, 34; Maribeth Crawford, music and dance, 34; Michael Doudoroff, Spanish and Portuguese, 39; Donnis Graham, KU Center for Research, 22; Willard Guy, Kansas Geological Survey, 12; Lawrence W. Hatfield, information services, 39; Alan R. Hawkins, music and dance, 29; Thelma Helyar, Policy Research Institute, 27; Maia Kipp, theatre and film, 18; Suzanne Knorr, Continuing Education, 1; Sher Kopf, Center for Research on Learning, 17; Nowhan Kwak, physics and astronomy, 38; Alfred J. Lata, chemistry, 38; Gary Laws, comptroller’s office, 16; Jerry Lewis, business, 46; William E. Lewis, business, 11; Jo Lowe, social welfare, 2; Douglas Miller, Academic Computing Services, 13; Charles H. Nicholas, information services, 27; Nancy Peine, Alumni Association, 38; Jan Roskam, aerospace engineering, 36; Pete Rowland, political science, 23; Dennis Saleebey, social welfare, 17; Roger Shimomura, art, 35; William A. Shunk, Endowment Association, 20; Glenda B. Stevens, Dole Institute of Politics, 1; James E. Strobl, Watkins Memorial Health Center, 26; Max Keith Sutton, English, 39; Richard E. Tessel, pharmacology and toxicology, 28; Mary F. Todd, Bureau of Child Research, 23; Lawrence Tomlin, Edwards Campus, 18; Fred Van Vleck, math, 42; Robert L. Walters, KU Center for Research, 34.


Back to topHome   This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Copyright 2001, the University of Kansas Office of University Relations. Images and information may be reused with notice of copyright, but not altered., (785) 864-3256.