The University of Kansas An Official Employee Publication From the Office of University Relations



April 9, 2004
Vol. 28, No. 14

Prof’s work is play
KU to fine-tune image across state
KU programs rank among nation’s best
KU earns ‘Best Value’ designation
Memorial Drive to add Korean War monument
Women’s basketball hires coach
A capitol education
KU set to begin construction on Dennis E. Rieger Scholarship Hall
Pharmacy hacking hotline open

KU graduate wins Pulitzer Prize for reporting
Lied Center celebrates two anniversaries with art, event
CSA to be screened at KC film festival

KU musicians perform in Guatemala
Promotions and tenure announced
Board of Regents announces sabbaticals
KU Archives contributes to Chamberlain documentary
Annual book contest schedules program
Fun philathropy
Ragin’ Cajun

KU First




Current jobs

In memory

KU people

News in brief

Web works


Contact Us

KU Faculty & Staff


UR homepage

KU homepage

Oread Deadline Schedule





Promotions and tenure announced

The Kansas Board of Regents has approved promotions and tenure for KU and KU Medical Center faculty, curators and researchers for 2004-05.

Sabbaticals list

Lawrence campus recipients
To full professor

• Christopher Allen, electrical engineering and computer science
• John Charnes, business
• Anthony Corbeill, classics
• Christian Crandall, psychology
• Robert Dunn, chemistry
• Patrick Dooley, design
• Mark Ezell, social welfare
• Susan Gauch, electrical engineering and computer science
• Tom Heilke, political science
• Shirley Hill, sociology
• Laura Hines, law school
• Weizhang Huang, mathematics
• Shigeru Iwata, economics
• Paul Johnson, political science
• Brian Laird, chemistry
• Paul Laird, music and dance
• Pok-Chi Lau, design
• Alice Lieberman, social welfare
• Stephen Mazza, law school
• Trung Van Nguyen, chemical and petroleum engineering
• Vicky Unruh, Spanish and Portuguese
• Erik Van Vleck, mathematics
• Glen White, human development and family life

To associate professor with tenure
• Elizabeth Asiedu, economics
• Ruth Ann Atchley, psychology
• Bartholomew Dean, anthropology
• Jonathan Earle, history
• Stephen Egbert, geography
• Sherry Fowler, history of art
• Manuela Gonzalez-Bueno, teaching and leadership
• Richard Hale, aerospace engineering
• Douglas Huffman, teaching and leadership
• John Kelly, ecology and evolutionary biology
• Weishi Liu, mathematics
• Joanna Browning Matamoros, civil, environmental and architectural engineering
• Maria Orive, ecology and evolutionary biology
• Debora Ortega, social welfare
• Robert Parson, civil, environmental and architectural engineering
• Bangere Purnaprajna, mathematics
• Sandra Quackenbush, molecular biosciences
• Paul Rehak, classics
• Teresa Robertson, philosophy
• Sarah Sawyer, philosophy
• Edward Scanlon, social welfare
• Susan Scholz, business
• Sherri Tucker, American studies
• Andrew Whitford, political science and environmental studies

Awarded tenure
• Shannon Criss, architecture and urban design
• Laura Hines, law school
• Stephen Mazza, law school
• Roland Seifert, pharmacology and toxicology
• John Stratton, university libraries, Regents Center Library

To courtesy associate professor
• Mark Jakubauskas, geography

To librarian II
• Michiko Ito, university libraries
• Lars Leon, university libraries

To associate research professor
• Mark Jakubauskas, Kansas Biological Survey
• Dale Walker, Life Span Institute

To associate scientist
• Stephen Egbert, Kansas Remote Sensing Lab

To senior scientist
• Glen White, Life Span Institute

To clinical professor
• Joyce Generali, pharmacy practice

Med Center recipients
To full professor

• Paul M. Arnold, neurosurgery
• Linda M. Frazier, preventive medicine and public health (Wichita)
• Rajesh Pahwa, neurology
• Steven B. Wilkinson, neurosurgery

To clinical professor
• Donald R. Brada, psychiatry and behavioral sciences (Wichita)
• Robert S. McKay, anesthesiology (Wichita)
• David A. McQueen, surgery (Wichita)
• Dennis F. Moore Jr., internal medicine (Wichita)

To adjunct professor
• James S. Leeder, pharmacology, toxicology and therapeutics

To associate professor with tenure

• Christopher W. Crenner, history and philosophy of medicine
• Patrick M. Moriarty, internal medicine

To clinical associate professor

• Henry W. Buck, gynecology and obstetrics
• Jeanne A. Drisko, gynecology and obstetrics
• Timothy J. Harkins, ophthalmology
• Thomas A. Moore, internal medicine (Wichita)
• Ronald Matthew Reese, pediatrics
• K. Dean Reeves, rehabilitation medicine volunteer
• John B. Terry, internal medicine (Wichita)

To research associate professor

• Giulia A. Bonaminio, family medicine
• Cheryl A. Gibson, internal medicine

Awarded tenure

• Scott E. Moser, family and community medicine (Wichita)
• William J. Nowack, neurology (Wichita)

Hired with immediate tenure

• Amanda L. Golbeck, internal medicine (Wichita)
• Curt H. Hagedorn, internal medicine
• Edna K. Hamera, nursing
• Martin A. Mainster, ophthalmology
• L. Darryl Quarles, internal medicine
• Jon P. Schrage, internal medicine (Wichita)
• Yu-Jui Wan, pharmacology, toxicology and therapeutics


Back to topHome   This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Copyright 2001, the University of Kansas Office of University Relations. Images and information may be reused with notice of copyright, but not altered., (785) 864-3256.