Program sends employees back to school

Thanks to the university's tuition assistance program, 92 KU employees will be hitting the books this fall.

Recipients of tuition aid for the fall semester are:

Janice Abney, office specialist, international student services; Prisella Adams, Web administrator, athletics corp.; Patricia Argueta, accountant I, university registrar's office; Mike Auchard, maintenance and repair technician II, student housing; Nancy Baker, data control supervisor, Computing Services; Theresa Bateson, information technology consultant I, Academic Computing Services; Renee Bergene, program coordinator, study abroad; Saibal Bhattacharya, assistant scientist, Kansas Geological Survey; Christina Blauer, program assistant, special education; Linda Bonebrake, secretary, provost's office; Andy Bracciano, program assistant, study abroad; Kimberly Bruns, program assistant, social welfare; Thomas Bryce Jr., mechanic II, facilities operations; David Burge, admissions counselor, admissions and scholarships; Jan Butin, production specialist, University Press of Kansas; Tina Caruthers, keyboard operator III, Academic Technology Services; Teri Chambers, office assistant II, economics; Karen Cook, library assistant II, libraries; Karen Cooper, assistant director, student financial aid; Molly Coplen, auditor, Internal Audit; Allen Crim, program assistant, Bureau of Child Research.


KU employees with one year of full-time or three years of part-time service may apply for tuition assistance. Tuition awards are generally for one class per semester.

Employees in the program must maintain a "C" undergraduate average or a "B" graduate average.

Applications can be obtained at 103 Carruth-O'Leary Hall or found under Forms Download at

The application deadline for the spring 2001 semester is Nov. 17. For more information, call Lynn George, human resources employment manager, at 864-7415.

Also, Helen Krische Dee, periodicals/microforms desk support, libraries; Melinda Dick-Lang, office coordinator, business administration; Landra Fair, proposal preparation, KU Center for Research; Margretta Farrar-deVries, office assistant III, parking; Melissa Fast, assistant director, Counseling and Psychological Services; Jennifer Fink, secretary II, International Programs; Tara Fitzpatrick, admissions counselor, admissions and scholarships; Rosalie Foster, office specialist, law school; Glenda Fowler, office specialist, continuing education; Michaela Coppedge Gillispie, office assistant IV, Higuchi Biosciences Center; Jonathan Glauner, programmer, Computing Services; Elizabeth Gravatt, secretary II, geology; Katherine Greene, library assistant II, law library; Eric Grospitch, complex director, student housing; Kevin Halgren, senior information technology specialist, Computing Services; Robin Holladay, office supervisor, English; Donna Holyman, assistant soccer coach, athletics; Anna Hornbrook, office specialist, Applied English Center; Bradley Howard, office specialist, university registrar's office; Jane Hoyt, library assistant II, Learning Resource Center; Robert Isaacson, program associate, special education.
Also, Carla Jackson, instructor, Speech-Language-Hearing Clinic; Nancy Scott Jackson, acquisitions editor, University Press of Kansas; Dorothy Johanning, executive secretary, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Robert Kinder, system support technician III, education administration; Kathy Lafferty, secretary II, information services; Shannon LaShell, research assistant, life span studies; Teresa Leahy, office assistant IV, physics and astronomy; Monica Lemmons, office specialist, Policy Research Institute; Allison R. Lopez, development officer, education administration; Bette Luther, office manager, Russian and East European studies; Debragh Maloney, accounts payable, KU Center for Research; Wendy Mannen, program assistant, Edwards Campus; Donna McMechan, public service administrator I, honors program; Karen McNellis, secretary II, study abroad; Dean Mielke, project manager, Design and Construction Management; Wayne Mixdorf, safety and security officer I, parking; Tom Moroney, installation-service technician II, Networking and Telecommunications Services; Kristine Moyer, office manager, Freshman-Sophomore Advising Center.

Also, Alan Nelson, custodial specialist, custodial services; Mark Nesbitt-Daly, assistant director, honors program; Brian Newberry, program assistant, special education; Cherrie Noble, reference assistant, libraries; Matthew Oberle, office assistant III, Student Health Services; Shanda Powell, secretary II, business; Jake Preston, complex director, student housing; Trina Ramirez, academic adviser, Freshman-Sophomore Advising Center; Jean Redeker, registrar/adviser, Academic Outreach Programs; Susann Richardson, program assistant, provost's office; Lucinda Roberts, office specialist, life span studies; Teresa Rockhold, program assistant, American studies; Robert Rodriguez, academic services coordinator, education administration; Stephanie Schaffner, program assistant, libraries; Trina Schartz, interpreter coordinator, Services for Students with Disabilities; Marykay Schmelzle, recruiting secretary, athletics corporation.

Also, Rhonda Sharp, office specialist, writing center; Xanthippe Stevens, secretary III, Policy Research Institute; Vera Lynne Stroup-Rentier, program assistant, life span studies; Kim Taylor, program assistant, anthropology museum; Jean Thoma, secretary, athletics corporation; Betty Thompson, office specialist, Engineering Management; Brenda Tucker, budget analyst, Budget Management and Fiscal Services; Le-Thu Tuttle, public service administrator I, public service administrator I, speech-language-hearing; Elizabeth Van Luchene, auditor, Internal Audit; Lois Weldon, research aide, life span studies; Amy Wierman, office specialist, engineering administration; Karla Williams, accountant I, education administration; Barbara Wiseman, administrative assistant, health policy and management; Osborne Wong, research professor, Higuchi Biosciences Center; Alberta Wright, assistant director, multicultural affairs; Lance Wright, video coordinator, athletics corporation.


Previous -- Next

Home - Previous Issues - Subscribe - Contact Us
September 8, 2000
OREAD is an employee publication, published
bi-weekly at the University of Kansas, Office of
University Relations, University Relations Center,
Lawrence, KS 66045-1630, Lynn Bretz, Interim Director.
News items should be sent to the editor at least
a week prior to publication.
Job advertisments are published for free.