Kemper awards kick off fall semester
by Mary Jane Dunlap

Chancellor Robert Hemenway was a welcome disruption in class at the start of the semester. Here,
he awards one of 20 Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence to Mary Lee Hummert, associate
professor of communication studies. Each fellowship is worth $5,000.
Photo by Doug Koch/University Relations

When a surprise patrol led by Chancellor Robert Hemenway walked into classrooms during the first few days of the new semester at KU, two of the surprised professors joked, "Does this mean I've been fired?"

The professors knew that on the first day of classes at KU for the past four years the chancellor has walked about the campus making an unannounced visit to 20 professors who are selected to receive W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence, worth $5,000 each.

What they didn't know was that they would be one of the award winners. Kemper Fellows' names are secret until they receive the award.

None of the 20 Kemper Fellows knew they had been selected until they saw the chancellor, representatives of the Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank, Trustee, the KU Endowment Association and an assortment of reporters and photographers coming into their classroom. Awards were made on the first day of classes, Aug. 24, and on Aug. 25, 28 and 29.

In addition, the William T. Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank, Trustee, and KU Endowment announced that the fellowship program would continue for five more years. A total of $100,000 is awarded each year.

This fall was the fifth year of the original five-year award program. The William T. Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank, Trustee, established a $250,000 fund for the program. The KU Endowment Association provided $250,000 in matching funds. The Kemper gift is being renewed along with matching funds from KU Endowment.

The W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence recognize outstanding teachers and advisers. A seven-member committee of students, faculty and KU alumni select each year's Kemper Fellows.

The William T. Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank, Trustee, was established in 1989 after Kemper's death.

The 2000 Kemper Fellows are:
· Charles M. Berg, professor of theatre and film.
· Diane K. Boyle, associate professor of nursing.
· Michael J. Burke, M.D., director of medical student education, KU School of Medicine-Wichita; director of psychiatry education, Via Christi Regional Medical Center, Wichita.
· Walter A. Clark, associate professor of fine arts.
· Diane R. Fourny, associate professor of French and Italian, and of humanities and Western civilization, and director of the Center for European Studies.
· Estela A. Gavosto, associate professor of mathematics.
· Deborah J. Gerner, associate professor of political science and department director for undergraduate studies and the international studies co-major.
· Edwin W. Hecker Jr., professor of law.
· Mary Lee Hummert, associate professor of communication studies.
· Thomas S. Krieshok, professor and chair of psychology and research in education.
· V. Parker Lessig, Frank S. Pinet teaching professor of business and director of undergraduate programs in business.
· Richard S. Musser, Clyde M. Reed teaching professor of journalism and mass communications.
· Garth A. Myers, assistant professor of geography and of African and African-American studies.
· Lawrence L. Pelletier Jr., M.D., professor of internal medicine at the KU School of Medicine-Wichita.
· Anton Rosenthal, associate professor of history.
· Robert L. Shelton, associate professor of religious studies and university ombudsman.
· Val H. Smith, associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology.
· Carl J. Strikwerda, professor of history and associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
· Thomas W. Volek, William Allen White Foundation teaching professor in journalism and mass communications.
· Mary K. Zimmerman, associate professor of health policy and management.

Previous -- Next

Home - Previous Issues - Subscribe - Contact Us
September 8, 2000
OREAD is an employee publication, published
bi-weekly at the University of Kansas, Office of
University Relations, University Relations Center,
Lawrence, KS 66045-1630, Lynn Bretz, Interim Director.
News items should be sent to the editor at least
a week prior to publication.
Job advertisments are published for free.