Ten selected for Chancellor's Student Awards

Ten seniors have received 2011 Chancellorís Student Awards and will be recognized formally as part of the 139th Commencement.

The awards recognize studentsí academic, volunteer and leadership accomplishments during their time at KU. The winners are:

Donald K. Alderson Memorial Award: Gerald Francis Wohletz Jr., Lawrence

David Jeremy Cohen

Joseph Benjamin Deneault

Alexander R. Earles

Emily Anne Loyd

Angela Ndhuya Oguna

Tonia Nicole Salas

Matthew James Lawrence Shepard

Michael Wade Smith

Caitlin Maureen Wise

Gerald Francis Wohletz Jr.

Class of 1913 Award: Joseph Benjamin Deneault, Topeka, and Angela Ndhuya Oguna, Nairobi, Kenya

Alexis F. Dillard Student Involvement Award: David Jeremy Cohen, Leawood, and Tonia Nicole Salas, Wichita, Kan., and Alameda, Calif.

Rusty Leffel Concerned Student Award: Michael Wade Smith, Goodland, Kan., and Naperville, Ill., and Alexander R. Earles, Salina and West Des Moines, Iowa

Caryl K. Smith Student Leader Award: Emily Anne Loyd, Lawrence

Agnes Wright Strickland Award: Mathew James Lawrence Shepard, Lenora, and Caitlin Maureen Wise, Mulvane

Marlesa Roney, vice provost for Student Success, and Kathryn Nemeth Tuttle, assistant vice provost for Student Success, visited the students in class to present the awards. Winners receive cash prizes, except recipients of the Agnes Wright Strickland Award, who receive lifetime membership in the KU Alumni Association.

Recipients will be honored at a reception Saturday, May 21, at the Kansas Room in the Kansas Union. The honorees also receive special recognition during the Commencement ceremony May 22 in Memorial Stadium. In addition, their portraits will be in the Commencement program.

The Chancellorís Student Awards committee selects the winners from throughout the university from nominations submitted by students, faculty and staff. The selection committee includes students, faculty and staff.

The Class of 1913 Award annually goes to a graduating man and woman who show evidence of intelligence, devotion to studies, personal character and promise of usefulness to society.

The Donald K. Alderson Memorial Award goes to a graduating senior who has demonstrated loyalty to and interest in the university and who has been active in events and services that benefit other students. The award was established in memory of Alderson, former dean of men and dean of student services.

The Alexis F. Dillard Student Involvement Award goes to a graduating student who has unselfishly contributed to the university through campus involvement. The award was established in 1993 by Dillardís family and friends to remember and honor him.

Rusty Leffel Concerned Student Awards annually go to students who demonstrate a concern for furthering the ideals of the university and higher education. The award was established by a group of seniors in 1973 to honor their fellow student, Leffel.

The Caryl K. Smith Student Leader Award goes to a graduating fraternity or sorority member who has demonstrated commitment to the local chapter, the KU greek community, the university and the Lawrence community. The award was established in 1993 to honor Smith, a former dean of student life.

The Agnes Wright Strickland Awards were established in 1953 in memory of Strickland, a member of the Class of 1887. The awards annually go to graduating seniors in recognition of their academic records, demonstrated leadership in matters of university concern, respect among fellow students and indications of future dedication to service in the university.

Campus closeup
Matthew Gillispie, clinical assistant professor in the Schiefelbusch Speech-Language-Hearing Clinic and the Department of Speech-Language-Hearing: Sciences and Disorders
Read more


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).