Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]


KUSM-W Dean Dismuke to step down

S. Edwards Dismuke

S. Edwards Dismuke has announced he is stepping down as dean of the School of Medicine-Wichita effective Sept. 10. Dismuke will continue to serve as professor in the departments of preventive medicine and public health and internal medicine, where he will continue to work with medical students and residents in Wichita.

Dismuke, while serving as chair of the Department of Preventive Medicine and Public Health in 1991, was also instrumental in the development of a statewide master’s of public health degree program. The program is currently ranked second in the nation among public institutions by U.S. News and World Report.

Barbara Atkinson, executive vice chancellor of the KU Medical Center and dean of the School of Medicine, announced she will conduct a national search for a new dean to lead the Wichita campus. As part of the search process, she will also meet with a broad cross-section of community leaders to solicit their input on strengthening the contributions of the School of Medicine–Wichita with regard to the health and economic prosperity of Wichita and Kansas.

Fawcett honored for minority mentorship

Stephen Fawcett, professor of applied behavioral science, has won the 2008 ethnic minority mentorship award from the Society for Community Research and Action, a division of the American Psychological Association.

The society is an international organization that works to advance theory, research and social action and promote health and empowerment and to prevent problems in communities, groups and individuals.

Chumley new KUMC associate dean

Heidi Chumley

The KU School of Medicine has named Heidi Chumley as senior associate dean for medical education. The school filled the position following the appointment of Glen Cox as the interim chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management and director of the new Institute for Community and Public Health. Chumley has been on the faculty of the Department of Family Medicine since 2004 and has served as the associate chair for undergraduate education since 2006. Prior to coming to KU, Chumley served as the medical director of family medicine at University Physicians’ Group and as an assistant professor at the University of Texas Health Science Center, both in San Antonio, Texas. At the University of Texas Health Science Center, she developed and implemented a transitional course between the second and third years of medical school, which has been used as a model at other institutions.

Hunter at helm of global program

International Programs has hired a new coordinator for the Global Awareness Program. Jenna Hunter coordinates the program aimed at recognizing the international experiences of undergraduates and enabling more students to add an international dimension to their education. Prior to joining International Programs, Hunter received her bachelor’s in international health from Beloit College and a master’s in public health from the University of Michigan. Most recently, she worked for the Kansas Department of Health and Environment as an outreach coordinator, taught fourth grade in Honduras and worked at the Arab Community Center for Economic and Social Services in Dearborn, Mich. Hunter has lived in Botswana and Morocco and is originally from Winfield.

David recognized for pharmacy teaching

Sunil David, assistant professor of medicinal chemistry, was recently selected as a “Best Teacher” by the School of Pharmacy. Following the honor, he was subsequently recognized at the annual meeting of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy in Chicago as one of the association’s Teachers of the Year.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).