Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

KU's best, brightest surprised with Kemper Fellowships

Kemper on camera

View videos of this year’s Kemper fellows receiving their surprise visits

The first few days of class are often full of surprises. But for 20 of KU’s best teachers and advisers, the surprises included $5,000 checks. Chancellor Robert Hemenway, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Richard Lariviere and a host of other dignitaries dropped in on classes the first two weeks of the semester to present W.T. Kemper Fellowships to 20 faculty members.

The fellowships, determined by a faculty panel, recognize faculty members for outstanding teaching and advising. A surprise patrol visited classes to announce the professors’ selection as Kemper fellows and to present the $5,000 awards that come with them. Each year, 20 faculty members are selected. This year’s Lawrence and Edwards Campus winners are listed below. Kempers are still being presented at the KU Medical Center.

  • Elizabeth Asiedu, associate professor of economics
  • Mary Banwart, associate professor of communication studies
  • Raj Bhala, Raymond F. Rice Distinguished Professor of Law
  • Hannah Britton, associate professor of political science
  • Marta Caminero-Santangelo, associate professor of English
  • Michael Detamore, assistant professor, chemical and petroleum engineering
  • Paul Hanson, professor of chemistry
  • John Hoopes, associate professor of anthropology
  • Lori Messinger, associate professor of social welfare
  • John Nalbandian, professor of public administration
  • Kristi Neufeld, assistant professor of molecular biosciences
  • Shannon O’Lear, associate professor of geography
  • Hossein Saiedian, professor of electrical engineering and computer science
  • Ward Thompson, associate professor of chemistry
  • Jon Tunge, associate professor of chemistry
  • Glen White, professor of applied behavior sciences
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).