Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Senior class names HOPE award finalists

The senior class has nominated five faculty members as finalists for the HOPE Award. The award, Honor for Outstanding Progressive Educator, was announced after Oreadís press time at the Nov. 15 home football game against Texas.

The nominees are:

  • Kerry Benson, lecturer in journalism
  • Matthew Beuchner, associate professor of molecular biosciences
  • Thomas Glavinich, associate professor of civil, environmental and architectural engineering
  • David Holmes, professor of psychology
  • Mary Klayder, University Honors Lecturer in English

The HOPE Award is the only KU award for teaching excellence bestowed exclusively by students. The senior class also selects the winner. The Class of 1959 established the award to recognize outstanding teaching and concern for students.

Senior class members select the winner by ballot and interviews. The winner receives a monetary award and recognition on a permanent plaque on display in the Kansas Union.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).