Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Participants selected for 11th annual Wheat State Whirlwind Tour

Thirty-five people have been selected for the 2008 Wheat State Whirlwind Tour. This year's tour, the 11th, will travel May 19-23. In addition to the participants, seven commentators will make the trip, and Chancellor Robert Hemenway will participate for two days.

Barnes, Concordia, Lucas, Palco, Nicodemus, Colby, Dodge City, Inman, Hutchinson, the Flint Hills and Cottonwood Falls are just some of the stops scheduled for the trip.

An alumni gathering will be held May 20 in Goodland. Participants are listed below.

  • Kristen Alley Swain, William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications
  • Erica Brown, KU Cancer Center
  • Cathy Clark, Design and Construction Management
  • Chris Clausen, School of Business
  • Deb Clements, Department of Family Medicine
  • Inna D'Empaire, Department of Psychiatry
  • Chris Depcik, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Jacob Dorman, Department of History
  • Andy Fry, Department of Health, Sport and Exercise Sciences
  • Mary Fry, Department of Health, Sport and Exercise Sciences
  • Amy Gaier, KU Cancer Center
  • Mugur Geana, William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications
  • Sally Hayden, Office of the Provost
  • Debra Hedden, School of Fine Arts
  • Steve Hedden, School of Fine Arts
  • Karen Henry, Life Span Institute
  • Judy Hultquist, Department of Clinical Pharmacology
  • Allison Kabel, Department of Occupational Therapy
  • Virginia Lewis, Great Plains Diabetes Institute, KU Medical Center
  • Michael Lynch, Department of Political Science
  • Michael Lynch Maestas, Counseling and Psychological Services
  • Ann Manzardo, Department of Psychiatry
  • Marliee McGinness, Department of Surgery
  • Craig McLaughlin, Department of Aerospace Engineering
  • Isaac Onyango, Department of Neurology
  • Donna Peck, University Relations, KU Medical Center
  • David Perlmutter, William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications
  • Margaret Rausch, Department of Religious Studies
  • Russell Scheffer, Department of Psychiatry
  • Paul Selden, Department of Geology
  • Jessica Taveau, External Affairs, KU Medical Center
  • Paul Tucker, Department of Music and Dance
  • Jonathan Van Tassell, Transportation Research Institute
  • Jessica Vasquez, Department of Sociology
  • Nina Vyatkina, Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures
  • David Warry, Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).