Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

KU people

Roberts honored for psych mentorship

Michael Roberts, professor of applied behavioral science, recently was awarded the Martin P. Levin Mentorship Award by the Society of Pediatric Psychology.

The award honors faculty in pediatric psychology who mentor students in an exemplary way, providing professional advice and guidance through various phases of the graduate program. Roberts received a plaque and cash with the award.

Loomis to tour for State Department

Burdett Loomis

Burdett Loomis

Burdett Loomis, professor of political science, was recently invited by the U.S. Department of State to speak in Malaysia and Singapore on critical issues of the 2008 presidential and congressional elections in the United States.

While participating in the State Department's two-week program, Loomis met and addressed university scholars and meet with media representatives to discuss the 2008 election, the role of interest groups in U.S. politics and the emergence of highly polarized politics in the United States. Loomis has made similar tours for the State Department to Mexico, Brazil and the British West Indies.

Nudo earns Javits Investigator Award

Randolph J. Nudo, director of the Landon Center on Aging and professor of molecular and integrative physiology at the KU Medical Center, has been awarded the prestigious Javits Investigator Award from the National Institutes of Health for his grant, which focuses on understanding how the brain repairs itself after injury. The honor will allow him to extend his five-year motor cortex grant to seven years.

Nudo was the first to provide direct evidence that physical therapy can be used to change the brain. His work in neurological sciences has been ongoing for 30 years, and he has been funded by the NIH since 1990.

Drahozal tapped for national law board

Christopher R. Drahozal

Christopher R. Drahozal

Christopher R. Drahozal, the John M. Rounds Distinguished Professor of Law, has been asked to serve as an associate reporter for the "Restatement of the U.S. Law of International Commercial Arbitration."

The Amercian Law Institute – a prestigious organization of legal practitioners, judges and academics – clarifies and simplifies legal principles that have developed, often haphazardly, through case law. This is frequently accomplished through "restatements," which collect and analyze case law from various courts and other authoritative sources governing a particular area of law.

The bulk of initial drafting for the project will take place over the next several years. Drahozal will be on sabbatical during the 2008-09 academic year.

Faculty named Kansas arts fellows

The Kansas Arts Commission has announced the recipients of the 2008 Kansas Artist Fellowships and Awards. Several KU faculty members are among the fellows. Fellowship winners are divided into three categories and receive a monetary award: Kansas Master Fellowships, $5,000; Kansas Mid-Career Fellowships, $750; and Kansas Emerging Artists Awards $250, a category added this year to recognize promising young artists. Awardees will be honored by their legislators at a reception March 10 in Topeka.

KU's master fellows and their area of specialty are: Carol Ann Carter, professor of art, interdisciplinary media; Roger Shimomura, distinguished professor emeritus of art, fine art.

Mid career fellows: Michael Krueger, associate professor of art, fine art; Yoonmi Nam, associate professor of art, fine art.

Nedra Diane Rogers, a KU student, earned an emerging artist award in poetry. John Wickersham, also a student, earned the award in music composition.

Albertson new chief of physicians group

Jim Albertson, a member of the administrative leadership team at the KU Medical Center, has been named chief executive officer of KU Physicians Inc.

Albertson previously was chief financial officer of the organization and senior associate dean for finance at the School of Medicine. He joined the medical center in 2004 and has more than 30 years of health care experience as a certified public accountant, attorney, chief financial officer, medical business consultant and adjunct professor.

Albertson's new post, which became official Feb. 1, is one of the first steps resulting from the recent affiliation agreement among the medical center, hospital and KU Physicians Inc., as it establishes the physicians group as a more independent entity.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).