Skip redundant pieces

2008-09 Fellows: Senior administrative fellows named

Eight faculty members have been named Senior Administrative Fellows for 2008-2009. They are:

Arvin Agah, associate chair and professor, electrical engineering and computer science; Allard Jongman, interim chair and professor, linguistics; Steve Kapp, associate professor, social welfare; Liz Kowalchuk, associate professor, visual arts program, design department; Keith Diaz Moore, chair and associate professor, architecture; Holly Storkel, associate professor, speech-language-hearing; Terry Slocum, chair and associate professor, geography; and Ric Steele, associate professor, psychology and applied behavioral science, clinical child psychology program.

Now in its 16th year and under the direction of Mary Lee Hummert, vice provost for faculty development, the program allows selected faculty the opportunity to explore senior administration through meeting with senior administrators, visiting administrative units across campus, and discussing national trends in higher education.

"As a former fellow who has now moved into senior administration, I appreciate the opportunity I had to get a bird's eye view of the nuts and bolts of educational administration early in my career," Hummert said.

Many of the participants of the program are department chairs and program directors.

The group of fellows is selected from nominations each year to work together for approximately four hours per month. There is no stipend or release time offered or expectation of an administrative position at the conclusion of the year.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, retaliation, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies and is the University’s Title IX Coordinator: the Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access,, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.