Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Pharmacy faculty No. 1 in funding

KU's percentage of NIH-funded researchers tops list

KU is No. 1 in the nation in percentage of pharmacy faculty members who receive research funding from the prestigious National Institutes of Health. KU is also ranked fourth in the nation in total NIH funding, according to recently released figures from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

The NIH is the primary source of federal funding for pharmacy schools in the United States. Support is considered an important part of a pharmacy school’s national reputation.

The top 20

Rank, Institution, Ph.D. faculty, Number funded, Percent Funded
1 KU, 36, 22, 61.11
2 University of California-San Diego, 12, 7, 58.33
3 University of California-San Francisco, 45, 23, 51.11
4 University of Arizona, 28, 14, 50
5 University at Buffalo-SUNY, 18, 8, 44.44
6 Rutgers University, 41, 18, 43.90
7 University of Nebraska, 19, 8, 42.11
8 University of Colorado, 29, 12, 41.38
9 University of Southern California, 33, 13, 39.39
10 University of Illinois at Chicago, 49, 19, 38.78v 11 University of New Mexico, 21, 8, 38.10
12 University of Montana, 27, 10, 37.04
13 University of Kentucky, 38, 14, 36.84
14 Texas Tech University, 22, 8, 36.36
15 University of Wisconsin-Madison, 34, 12, 35.29
16 Northeastern University, 20, 7, 35
17 Purdue University, 46, 16, 34.78
18 University of Michigan, 23, 8,34.78
19 University of Utah, 67, 23, 34.33
20 University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, 44, 15, 34.09

Twenty-two, or 61.1 percent, of full-time faculty members in KU’s School of Pharmacy received NIH funding in fiscal year 2007. The University of California-San Diego followed with 58.33 percent. The University of California-San Francisco, University of Arizona and University at Buffalo-SUNY rounded out the top five.

The University of Nebraska, the University of Colorado and Texas Tech University were the only other Big 12 schools in the top 20 at No. 7, 8 and 14, respectively. KU’s total number of pharmacy faculty who receive the funding was second only to the University of Utah, with 23 of 67 faculty members qualifying.

KU secured more than $11 million in total NIH funding in fiscal year 2007, good for fourth place.

The University of Utah was ranked at the top, with $23,588,771. Utah edged the University of California-San Francisco, which had held the top spot for nearly 30 years.

Completing the top five were the University of Illinois-Chicago at No. 3 and the University of Washington at No. 5. Colorado was the only other Big 12 school ranked in the top 20, at No. 8.

“Showing well in these rankings is a great boost for the School of Pharmacy,” said Dean Kenneth Audus. “The willingness of the National Institutes of Health to invest so strongly in the research done at KU shows we are at the forefront of expanding the pool of knowledge in our field.”

KU has been in the top five for overall funding for seven consecutive years and in the top 10 since 1995. Audus said that with the arrival of distinguished faculty members such as Blake Peterson and Tom Prisinzano in medicinal chemistry, he expects the numbers to be even better next year.

The Kansas Bioscience Authority recently named Peterson one of two eminent scholars.

“These rankings make it clear that, pound for pound, the KU School of Pharmacy has an extraordinary faculty – one that consistently out-performs schools with much larger faculties” said Steve Warren, vice provost for research and graduate studies.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).