Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

KU people

Warren's research earns national award

Steve Warren

Steve Warren

Steve Warren, vice provost for research and graduate studies, will receive a national award this spring for his contributions to research in developmental disabilities. The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities will present Warren with the AAIDD 2008 Research Award at the 132nd AAIDD annual meeting May 27-28 in Washington, D.C. Warren has published more than 100 articles and book chapters and is internationally known as an expert in atypical language development. He is a fellow of the American Psychological Association, the current president of its Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Division and a past president of AAIDD.

Fine named Knight Chair in journalism

Pamela B. Fine, managing editor of the Indianapolis Star, will become the Knight Chair in News, Leadership and Community at the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications this summer. Fine has been the managing editor of the Indianapolis Star since 2004. She has held leadership positions at the Minneapolis Star Tribune and the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and in the American Society of Newspaper Editors and the Associated Press Managing Editors. Fine has been a Pulitzer Prize juror four times. She holds a bachelor's in journalism, with a minor in English, from the University of Florida. She is working toward her master's degree in media management. In 1990, KU's journalism school received one of the first three Knight Chairs in Journalism that focuses on teaching community journalism.

Whelan honored for field leadership

Richard Whelan, distinguished professor emeritus of education, is the 2008 recipient of the Department of Special Education's Field Leadership Award. The annual award recognizes leaders who have had a lasting impact on special education through their contributions as researchers, educators, policy makers and advocates. During his career, spanning more than 50 years, Whelan has been a faculty member, department chair and dean of education. He has authored or co-authored more than 100 publications in the areas of emotional and behavioral disabilities, leadership development and program administration. Whelan will be honored at the annual KU reception at the Council for Exceptional Children meeting April 4 in Boston, Mass. A reception also will be held at 3 p.m. May 2 on the Joseph R. Pearson Hall patio. Well wishers may send cards and letters to or call (785) 864-0556.

KU officer Riggs takes top honors

Sara Riggs, a police officer with the Public Safety Office, recently earned the Larry D. Welch Award for Academic Excellence from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center. Riggs began her career with Public Safety six years ago. She first was employed as a communications specialist and currently is in the field-training stage, working with a training officer. When finished, she will work on her own as a university police officer.

Castle selected for board of governors

Joyce Castle, professor of voice, recently was invited to join the honorary board of directors of the Mu Phi Epsilon Foundation. Castle will be honored as the newest director at the fraternity's spring gala recital. Castle will join other acclaimed artists who are also honorary board members such as Marilyn Horne, American opera singer; Alicia DeLarrocha, Spanish pianist; Lukas Foss, American composer, conductor and pianist; Julius Rudel, American orchestra conductor; and Michael Tilson Thomas, American conductor, pianist and composer.

Gunn to read from work, receive honor

James Gunn

James Gunn

James Gunn, professor emeritus of English, and an internationally renowned science fiction author, will read from his work in a program titled, "The Best of James Gunn," at 4 p.m., April 11. The reading will be in the Spencer Museum of Art auditorium and will be followed immediately with a reception in the museum's central court. Both events are sponsored by KU's Department of English and are free and open to the public. Gunn, director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at KU, is being honored the same day by KU's College of Liberal Arts and Sciences with a 2008 Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award. His career includes publishing 28 books and more than 100 stories and editing 12 more books.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).