Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Kemper awards

Doug Koch/University Relations

Lee Skinner, associate professor of Spanish and Portuguese, shows her surprise at being presented a Kemper fellowhip by Chancellor Robert Hemenway. Along with Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Richard Lariviere and other dignitaries, Hemenway presented the fellowships, which come with a $5,000 award to faculty members across campus during the first week of classes.

Dignitaries present Kemper awards to unsuspecting faculty

KU's chancellor, provost and other dignitaries dropped in on classrooms unexpectedly during the first week of the semester with good news. They were handing out Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence to unsuspecting professors.

The fellowships were awarded to 16 faculty members on the Lawrence and Edwards campuses. Four more will be awarded to KU Medical Center faculty members later this month.

Winners of the fellowships receive $5,000. The awards recognize outstanding teachers and advisers at KU as determined by a seven-member selection committee. Now in their 12th year, the awards are supported by $650,000 in gifts from the William T. Kemper Foundation (Commerce Bank, trustee) and $650,000 in matching funds from KU Endowment.

A photo gallery of the winners receiving their award is online at Kemper awards.

This year's Lawrence and Edwards campus winners:

  • David Bergeron, professor of English
  • Victoria Corbin, associate professor of molecular biosciences
  • Charles Epp, associate professor of public administration
  • Marsha Haufler, professor of history of art
  • Patricia Hawley, assistant professor, psychology
  • Paul Johnson, professor of political science
  • Krzysztof Kuczera, professor of chemistry
  • Mark Mort, associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology
  • Michael Roberts, professor of applied behavioral science
  • Lee Skinner, associate professor of Spanish and Portuguese
  • James Stiles, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science
  • Holly Storkel, associate professor of speech-language-hearing
  • Ellen Sward, professor of law
  • Anthony Walton, associate professor of geology
  • Bryan C. Young, associate professor of civil, environmental and architectural engineering
  • Yan Bing Zhang, assistant professor of communication studies

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).