Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Governance matters

R. Steve Dick/University Relations

The University Senate Executive Committee (SenEx) just kicked off a new year. Pictured, from left, are: Prakash Shenoy, faculty; Jack Brown, faculty; Eric Foss, student; Jack Connor, student; William Crowe, president of University Senate and chair of SenEx; Hannah Love, student body president; Marianne Berry, president elect for University Senate; Liz Kowalchuk, faculty; Jason O'Connor, Unclassified Staff; Tom Cox, student; Nancy Kinnersley, president elect for Faculty Senate; Doug Carter, University Support Staff; Danny Kaiser, president of Unclassified Senate; Richard Levy, president of Faculty Senate. Not pictured: Dennis Constance, president of University Support Staff Senate.

University Governance does important work that affects everyone at KU. For example, last year Governance developed and sent forward for the chancellor's approval comprehensive reforms of the promotion and tenure standards and procedures, and a streamlined and clarified grade replacement policy. The group is developing important proposals to improve the evaluation of teaching and to develop research computing resources.

Governance is the voice of the faculty, students and staff on issues of policy.

This column will feature important issues and developments. For further information, see University Governance.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).