Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Search committees named for fine arts, research, grad studies

Search committees have been formed to find a dean for the School of Fine Arts and vice provost for research and graduate studies. Both committees will conduct nationwide searches.

The new fine arts dean will start in August 2008 and succeed Steve Hedden, who is returning to teaching. The vice provost for research and graduate studies is a new position. It was created as a result of a restructuring that brought together the Graduate School and Office of the Vice Provost for Research. Associate Dean Thomas Heilke and Assistant Dean Hodgie Bricke are interim associate vice provosts for international programs.

Search committee members are:

Fine arts

  • John Gaunt, dean of the School of Architecture and Urban Planning (chair)
  • Martin Bergee, professor of music and dance
  • Alyssa Boone, undergraduate student in fine arts
  • Carol Ann Carter, professor of art
  • Lois Elmer, administrative associate for music and dance
  • Ann Gardner, president elect of Friends of the Lied Center board of directors and editorial page editor for the Lawrence Journal-World
  • Saralyn Reece Hardy, director of the Spencer Museum of Art
  • Tanya Hartman, associate professor of art,
  • Michelle Heffner Hayes, associate professor of dance
  • Liz Kowalchuk, associate professor of design
  • Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, senior vice provost
  • Jeff McGee, graduate student in fine arts
  • Genaro Mendez, associate professor of music
  • Lance Rake, professor of design
  • Larry Tenopir, advisory board
  • Tim Van Leer, executive director of the Lied Center
  • and Scott Weiss, director of bands.

Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Studies

  • Richard Lariviere, provost and executive vice chancellor (chair)
  • John Augusto, research coordinator, Office of Research and Graduate Studies
  • Victor Bailey, director of the Hall Center for the Humanities
  • Michael Head Baltezor, R and D, Enturia, Inc.
  • Stuart Bell, dean of the School of Engineering
  • John Brown, professor of molecular biosciences
  • Mary Lee Hummert, vice provost for faculty development
  • Angie Loving, assistant vice provost for research and graduate studies
  • Liliana Merubia, senior assistant to the provost
  • Lesa Mitchell, vice president of the Kauffman Foundation
  • Nancy Muma, chair and professor, pharmacology and toxicology
  • Sally Roberts, associate dean of the School of Education
  • Sara Rosen, dean and associate vice provost, Office of Research and Graduate Studies
  • Linda Steele, graduate student in chemistry
  • Joe Steinmetz, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Bala Subramaniam, Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering
  • Paul Terranova, vice chancellor for research, KU Medical Center
  • Scott Weir, director of Therapeutics, Discovery and Development, KU Cancer Research Center
  • Sara Wilson, associate professor of mechanical engineering.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).