Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]


Charles L. Stansifer, professor emeritus of Latin American history, participated in a lecture series Sept. 7-26 on contemporary Latin American politics during an educational and cultural tour of South America sponsored by the partners of the Americas of Washington, D.C.

Jane Zhao, assistant professor of management, gave a presentation titled "From ‘Made in China' to ‘Design in China': Innovative Capability Development in the Chinese Auto Industry" at The Dragon and the Elephant: Understanding the Development of Innovation capacity in China and India conference held Sept. 24-25 at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D.C.

Richard T. De George, University Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, and Douglas R. May, professor of business administration, presented papers at the 20th annual meeting of the European Business Ethics Network in Leuven, Belgium, in September. De George spoke on "The Social Relativity of CSR and Multinational Pharmaceutical Corporations," and May on "Business Ethics Curriculum Development: Ethics Initiatives in U.S. Universities."

Giselle Anatol, professor of English, gave a lecture titled "The Things That Fly in the Night: Vampires in Caribbean Literature," for the English and Africana studies program at Villanova University on Sept. 19.

Jim Baxendale, director of technology transfer and intellectual property for research and graduate studies, will co-chair the program committee for the 2008 Central Region Meeting of the Association of University Technology Managers July 14-16 in Cleveland. More than 350 universities, research institutions, teaching hospitals and government agencies are members of the organization, along with hundreds of companies managing and licensing innovations based on academic and nonprofit research.

Les Mitscher, University Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, received the Norman Farnsworth Research Achievement Award of the American Society of Pharmacognosy during its 48th annual meeting July 14-28 in Portland, Maine. Mitscher was given the award for his continued contributions and achievements in pharmacognosy. He also was inducted into the American Chemical Society Division of Medicinal Chemistry's Hall of Fame at the ACS's fall meeting in Boston.

Tom Prisinzano, associate professor of medicinal chemistry, received the 2006 Jack L. Beal Award. The award recognizes outstanding papers published in the Journal of Natural Products at the 48th annual meeting of the American Society of Pharmacognosy July 14-28 in Portland, Maine.

Philip Schrodt, professor of political science, has been elected president of the American Political Science Association's section on Political Methodology, the second largest of the APSA's 38 sections. Schrodt has also, along with Ohio State political science professor Janet Box-Steffinsmeier, been awarded a grant for $250,000 on behalf of the ASPA.

Van Kelly, associate professor of French and chair of the French and Italian department, presented a paper titled "A la lisière de l'horreur: Jorge Semprun et ses retours à Buchenwald" June 15 at the University of Ghent, Belgium.

Elizabeth Byleen, associate language specialist, has published a chapter titled Self-Portrait: Capturing Curriculum in Black and White, in the book "Revitalizing an Established Program for Adult Learners in the TESOL Language Development Curriculum Development Series."

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).