Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Retiring faculty, staff to be honored at dinner May 31

KU will honor retiring faculty and unclassified staff members with a dinner at 6 p.m. May 31 in the Kansas Union ballroom.

Chancellor Robert Hemenway and Senior Vice Provost Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett will recognize the employees during the annual dinner.

Retirees may bring one guest. Cost for additional guests is $15. For reservations, send a check payable to KU to Debra Bia, Provost's Office, 250 Strong Hall. The reservation deadline is May 24.

Retirees, their departments and years of service are listed below:

  • Joanne K. Altieri, Office of Vice Provost for Research, 18
  • Susan Archer, Office of Vice Provost for Research, 22
  • Alan Black, urban planning, 26
  • Phillip Blackhurst, art, 38
  • Beverly Boyd, English, 45
  • Lawrence Brady, Kansas Geological Survey, 36
  • Robert Buddemeier, Kansas Geological Survey and geography, 17
  • Nancy Burich, KU Libraries, 31
  • Victor Contoski, English, 38
  • Jeree Catlin, Information Services, 21
  • Ben Cobb, mathematics, 43
  • Ray Davis, public administration, 35
  • Jennie Dienes, KU Libraries, 31
  • Sheryle Gallant, psychology, 12
  • Paul Garcia, education administration, 9
  • Gunda Georg, medicinal chemistry, 23
  • David Grisafe, Kansas Geological Survey, 36
  • James Helyar, KU Libraries, 48
  • Phillip Hofstra, design, 20
  • Robert Hohn, psychology and research in education, 39
  • Thorvald Holmes Jr., Natural History Museum and Biodiversity Research Center, 18
  • Wilma Holt, applied behavioral science, 37
  • Susan Iversen, student health services, 17
  • Roger Kaesler, Geology and Paleontological Institute, 41
  • Richard Kershenbaum, technical services/information services, 34
  • C. Edward Lan, aerospace engineering, 39
  • Yvonne Lang, Beach Center on Disability, 5
  • Marigold Linton, Office of the Provost, 7
  • Ken Lohrentz, KU Libraries, 23
  • Lawrence Maxey, music and dance, 37
  • A. Dwayne McCune, tertiary oil recovery, 10
  • Diane McDermott, psychology and research in education, 35
  • Diane McDiarmid, social welfare, 14
  • Fred McElhenie, student housing, 45
  • Douglas McKay, physics and astronomy, 37
  • Richard Nelson, University Career Center and psychology and research in education, 32
  • Barbara Paschke, Kansas NSF EPSCoR, 26
  • Ann Phillips, engineering, 20
  • Robert Price, art, 39
  • James Robbins, physics, 3
  • Dennis Quinn, English, 51
  • Jean Bragg Schumaker, applied behavioral science and Center for Research on Learning, 37
  • Barbara Shortridge, geography, 19
  • Lawrence Skelton, Kansas Geological Survey, 25
  • Charles Spellman, Schiefelbusch Institute for Life Span Studies, 39
  • Marvin Stottlemeier, public administration and Continuing Education Public Management Center, YEARS MISSING
  • John Sweets, history, 35
  • W. Randall Van Schmus, geology, 40
  • Barbara Watkins, Continuing Education, 38
  • Donald Whipple, Design and Construction Management, 36
  • Bence Williams, Facilities Operations human resources, 27
  • Ramona Willits, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 25
  • Lawrence Wrightsman, psychology, 31
  • Akira Yamamoto, anthropology, 34
  • Lorna Zimmer, International Student and Scholar Services, 41.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).