Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Carlin to take graduate school position in D.C.

Diana Carlin

Diana Carlin, dean of the Graduate School and International Programs, has announced plans to step down from her post effective June 30. Carlin will take a year long dean-in-residence position with the Council of Graduate Schools in Washington, D.C., beginning in July.

"I have thoroughly enjoyed my time as dean and am very proud of what my staff and I have accomplished during my seven years in this position," said Carlin. "I did not expect to be dean for more than seven or eight years, and I was nearing a decision point when the Council of Graduate Schools opportunity presented itself. I am leaving a solid program that my successor can build on."

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Richard Lariviere said he would assess the administrative alignment of the Graduate School and Office of International Programs, two large functions in a national research university such as KU, before announcing an interim replacement for Carlin.

"Under Diana's leadership, the Graduate School has been streamlined and its operations centralized; international programs and study abroad have witnessed profound growth," said Lariviere. "We thank Diana for her tireless work advancing KU's reputation as an international university."

Carlin, a professor of communication studies, said the Council of Graduate Schools position will enable her to work on graduate and international issues in a new arena.

After a year there, she will return to KU's communication studies department to pursue research on political debates in emerging democracies.

During Carlin's tenure, 24 KU graduate programs have been ranked by U.S. News as among the top 25 in the nation and KU has been nationally cited for student participation in study abroad, ranking eighth in a 2006 study. In 2004, the university initiated the Global Awareness Program to recognize student international activities and in 2005 became one of five universities selected to receive the Simon Award for Campus Internationalization.

Carlin was instrumental in establishing KU's Confucius Institute and in securing KU participation in the Chinese government's foreign experts program. Carlin negotiated exchange agreements with some of the top universities in Europe and Asia. For the Graduate School, Carlin created programs to prepare future faculty and professionals, graduate certificate programs and received $330,000 in grants to develop courses in ethics and responsible conduct of research. More than $2 million was contributed to graduate and international programs during Carlin's tenure.

In 1999, Carlin was one of 20 faculty members to receive KU's prestigious W.T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence, which recognizes outstanding teaching and advising. She joined the KU faculty in 1987 and served as the communications department's chair from 1997 to 1998 and as interim assistant provost in 1999 before being named dean of the Graduate School. †

Carlin serves on the Brown Foundation Board of Directors, Kids Voting Kansas, the International Relations Council of Kansas City, the Kansas City World Trade Center's International Investor's Board and the Council of Graduate Schools Board of Directors and chairs Kansas International and NAFSA: The Association of International Educators' international task force on the Bologna Process. Carlin is immediate past president of the Central States Communication Association and is currently a candidate for the second vice presidency of the National Communication Association.

In 1998, Carlin was named an "Outstanding Educator" by the KU chapter of Mortar Board, a national senior honor society, and was inducted into the KU Women's Hall of Fame. In 1995, she received the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences' Graduate Faculty Mentor Award.

Carlin earned bachelor's and master's degrees from KU and a doctorate from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).