Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Dole Institute spring fellows announced

The Dole Institute of Politics has announced former Missouri Gov. Bob Holden and Scott Morris, director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Florida Long-Term Recovery, will serve as Fellows for this semester.

Holden will conduct a study group titled "You Be the Governor: Making Decisions in the Fast Lane – Policy vs. Politics." Morris' study group, will be titled "The Politics of Disasters." Specific dates and times are available on the Dole Institute Web site.

Their study groups will begin on Feb. 28 (Morris) and March 1 (Holden), and be held on consecutive Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Specific dates and times are available on the Dole Institute website.

Holden's 25-year career in public service includes his term as governor from 2000 to 2004, as Missouri State Treasurer from 1992 to 2000, and as a state representative from the Springfield, Mo. area. He is currently chairman of The Holden Group, LLC, a business development and international trade strategies firm, and leads the Governor Bob Holden Pubic Policy Forum at Webster University in St. Louis.

Morris has served as director of the Florida Long-Term Recovery operation since its inception in May 2005. He was immediately responsible for FEMA's recovery from the 2004 hurricanes, and subsequently, all continuing operations in the state. He served as deputy chief of staff for the Department of Homeland Security's Emergency Preparedness and Response directorate. Before joining DHS, Morris served as deputy chief of staff and White House liaison for the Small Business Administration.

The Institute's spring semester faculty liaisons have also been announced. They are Mary Banwart, assistant professor of communication studies; Raquel Alexander, assistant professor of business; and Catherine Weaver, assistant professor of political science.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
February 5, 2007 : Vol. 31, No. 10

Click It



The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).