Skip redundant pieces


Jeff Jacobsen/KU Athletics

Craig Martin, left, professor and chair of ecology and evolutionary biology, and Edward McBride, lecturer in civil, environmental and architectural engineering, display the 2007 H.O.P.E. Awards they received Nov. 17 at the football game against Iowa State University. The H.O.P.E. is the only award for teaching given exclusively by students.

R. Steve Dick/University Relations

KU’s Torch Chapter of the Mortar Board national senior honor society recognized five faculty members for outstanding teaching Nov. 28 at the KU-Florida Atlantic University men’s basketball game. Pictured, from left, are John Volk and Emily Bannwarth, Mortar Board Outstanding Educator Co-Chairs; Nick Barnthouse, Mortar Board President; Amy Rossomondo, assistant professor of Spanish and Portuguese; Ingrid Peterson, director of the Kansas Algebra Program in the Department of Mathematics; Scott Murphy, associate professor of music theory; Mary Klayder, University Honors Lecturer in English; Paul Hanson, professor of chemistry; and Chancellor Robert Hemenway. Mortar Board members nominate educators for their devotion to academia, teaching style, accessibility, knowledge of their subjects and other special qualities identified by the KU chapter.

Amanda Kistner/University Relations

Michael Dukakis, former presidential candidate and governor of Massachusetts, visited the Dole Institute of Politics Nov. 29. The 1988 Democratic presidential nominee now spends his time teaching at universities.

R. Steve Dick/University Relations

Lt. Gen. William B. Caldwell IV spoke at the Dole Institute Nov. 14. Caldwell, commanding general of the U.S. Army Combined Arms Center and Fort Leavenworth, presented “The Changing Face of Warfare in the 21st Century.” As commanding general of the Combined Arms Center, Caldwell oversees the Command and General Staff College at Fort Leavenworth and 17 other schools and training centers throughout the country.

Submitted/Emma Stone

KU alumni Emma Stone and Seth Lormier sent this photo of themselves on Mt. Vesuvius to Don Steeples, Dean A. McGee Distinguished Professor of Applied Geophysics. The couple both took Steeples’ earthquakes and natural disasters course, which covered the volcano’s infamous eruption, prompting them to share the photo.

Amanda Kistner/University Relations

Susan Earl, curator of American and European art at the Spencer Museum of Art, leads Multicultural Scholars Program participants on a tour of the Aaron Douglas Exhibit at Spencer. The group saw the works of Douglas, a Kansas native and Harlem Renaissance artist during the visit.

Submitted/Jacob Dorman

Sophomores Nora Burt and Scott Sheu take advantage of the balmy autumn weather to discuss James Baldwin's The Price of The Ticket in Professor Jacob Dorman's American Studies 101 class titled: "Understanding America: Whiteness, Blackness, and Racism." Dorman’s class took advantage of the last of the pleasant weather before the recent cold snap.

R. Steve Dick/University Relations

Mike Pisani, teacher at Hilltop Child Development Center, holds the Fraser Hall birdhouse he built. The birdhouse will be auctioned to raise funds to help Hilltop families in need during the holidays. Hilltop provides child care and education services to KU faculty, staff and students. E-mail for more information

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).