Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Outstanding women to be honored

The KU Women's Recognition Program, sponsored by the Women's Commission on the Status of Women and the Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center, has named winners of this year's awards.†The awards honor women students, faculty, staff and alumnae who have enriched and improved the campus community through their service, teaching or involvement. Awards will be presented at 7:30 p.m. April 17 at the Big 12 Room in the Kansas Union. †A reception to honor the nominees and award recipients will follow.

Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership: Ellen Stolle

Outstanding Woman Student in Athletics: Chelsey Pryor

Hall of Fame: Helen Alexander, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology; Joan Hunt, professor, KU Medical Center; Barbara Atkinson, executive vice chancellor, KU Medical Center; Marynell Reece, founder, Reece Construction, community organizer.

Outstanding International Woman Student: Cristina Fernandez

Outstanding Woman Student in Community Service: Bridey Maidhof

Outstanding Woman Educator: Elizabeth Friis, assistant professor of mechanical engineering

Outstanding Woman Staff Member: Dorothy Knoll, dean of students, KU Medical Center.

Outstanding Woman Student in Partnership: Stephanie Gomez

Outstanding Nontraditional Woman Student: Diedre White Man

Single Parent Student Award: Cynthia Lynn

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).