Skip redundant pieces
[an error occurred while processing this directive]


Hummert new VP for faculty support

Mary Lee Hummert

Mary Lee Hummert, associate vice provost for research, has been named vice provost for faculty support, succeeding Sandra Gautt, who held the position for 17 years.

Hummert's responsibilities will include developing programs to help new faculty prepare for the promotion and tenure process and training department chairs for their administrative duties on KU's Lawrence campus. The position reports to Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, senior vice provost for academic affairs.

Hummert will retain her position as professor of communication studies and research associate in the Gerontology Center at KU's Life Span Institute.

Dauz-Williams feted for nurse mentoring

Phoebe Dauz Williams, a pediatric nurse researcher and professor in the School of Nursing, accepted a 2006 Mentor Award from the National Coalition of Ethnic Minority Nurses. She was assigned to oversee the work of two mentees at the coalition's second national conference.

Medina named 2006 Bellows Scholar

The School of Engineering has announced that Mario A. Medina, associate professor of civil, environmental and architectural engineering, was named a 2006 Bellows Scholar. The award recognizes overall achievement in teaching, research and service. Bellows Scholars receive a cash award for their commitment to students and programs at the university.

Minns inducted into new honor society

Garold Minns, associate dean of academic and student affairs at the School of Medicine-Wichita, been inducted into the KU Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society in its inaugural year. The society, sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, recognizes faculty members have displayed outstanding humanistic and professional behaviors and the highest standards of compassion and sensitivity in their professional interactions.

Loving tapped for interim finance post

Angie Loving, manager of compensation and appointments at the KU Center for Research, has been named interim assistant vice provost and director of finance.

Before joining the Center for Research in 2001, she worked for five years as a program/fiscal officer with the Board of Regents of the Utah System of Higher Education.

Foster conducts national band

Robert Foster, professor of music and assistant chair of the Department of Music and Dance, was invited by the National Band Association to be the 2006 NBA Community Band Conductor during a concert held July 22-24 in Las Vegas on the campus of University of Nevada-Las Vegas.

Foster invited two KU music faculty to perform solos for the event: Steve Leisring, assistant professor of trumpet; and Kevin Bobo, assistant professor of percussion.

Myers new director of assessment

Bill Myers has joined the vice provost for information services' staff as director of assessment. Myers will be responsible for working with the libraries, networking and telecommunications services and information technology to identify student, faculty and staff service expectations, and then assessing how effectively those services and resources are provided.

Myers was formerly director of library development and assessment coordinator for the libraries and information services, and was a lecturer in the English department.

Goldstein named new ERC director

Robert H. Goldstein, Merrill W. Hass Distinguished Professor and chair of the Department of Geology, is the new co-director of the KU Energy Research Center. Goldstein has been with the Department of Geology since 1985 and has been chair since 2004. Goldstein was appointed by Associate Vice Provost for Research George Wilson.

Timothy Carr, who has been co-director of the center since 1997, relinquished administrative responsibilities July 1 to prepare for his departure from KU and the Kansas Geological Survey in the fall of 2007.

Kaesler to receive service award

Roger Kaesler, professor of geology and director of the Paleontological Institute, will be among three geoscientists who will receive the Geological Society of America Distinguished Service Award for 2006.

The awards will be given Oct. 21 at the society's annual meeting in Philadelphia.

Cohen named interim UR director

Todd Cohen

Todd Cohen has been named interim director of University Relations, and Jackie Hosey has been named interim associate director of news and public issues.

Cohen succeeds Lynn Bretz, who was named director of University Communications last month. Cohen, who was associate director since 2002, has bachelor's degrees in journalism and political science from KU and a master's in public administration from the University of Washington.

Hosey has a bachelor's degree from the University of Missouri-Columbia and has worked as a reporter, photographer and editor at newspapers in Arkansas, Nevada and Kansas. She is the former director of publications at Baker University and publications for the KU School of Law.

Hanson honored by nursing students

The Collegiate Nurse Educators of Greater Kansas City presented Sandra Hanson, assistant professor of nursing, with an award for her work with students in the spring

Hanson has been teaching for 45 years and has held NCLEX review sessions for approximately 25 years.

King earns Lawrence teaching award

Naomi King, a clinical assistant professor at the KU School of Nursing, received the Phyllis Keeney Lawrence Teaching award during the school's recognition ceremony this spring.

The award goes to a faculty member possessing a reputation of strong teaching, developing unique teaching methods and contributing to the curriculum.

Klinkenberg listed under new name

If you're searching for Theresa Klinkenberg, chief financial officer, you may not find her. That is, if you're searching for her name in KU's Outlook directory.

Klinkenberg was recently married and is now Theresa Gordzica. Her contact information will remain the same, but her name is no longer listed under Klinkenberg.

Bittlingmayer named distinguished chair

George Bittlingmayer, Wagnon Distinguished Professor of Finance in the School of Business, has been named the Harold Otto Distinguished Chair in Austrian Economics. The position is funded by a gift of $750,000 from Sherlock Hibbs in honor of his cousin, Harold Otto.

Bittlingmayer has been at KU since 2000, when he filled the Wagnon professorship. He is a founding director of the university's Center for Research in Entrepreneurial Activities. He has been an adjunct scholar at the Ludwig von Mises School of Economics since 1998.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).